Navigation path

Additional tools

European strategies


Stakeholders’ Conference on the Future of Transport

Brussels, 9-10 March 2009

In 2001, the Commission issued a White Paper setting an agenda for transport policy throughout 2010. Approaching the end of the ten-year period, it is time to look further ahead and define a vision for the future of transport and mobility, preparing the ground for future policy developments.

Commission Vice-President A. Tajani, in charge of European transport policy, convened a High Level Conference on 9-10 March to gather stakeholders' views on the main challenges and opportunities for the transport sector in the very long term (20 to 40 years).

Top managers of transport operators, manufacturers and logistic companies were invited to contribute their vision alongside policy-makers, academics and representatives of Member States, European institutions and NGOs.

The Conference was centred on four workshops focusing on urban, freight and passenger transport and on the challenge of sustainable mobility. The workshops were chaired by former Commission Vice-President and Transport Commissioner, Mr Karel Van Miert, former Director General of DG TREN, Mr Robert Coleman, and the Head of Vice-President Tajani’s Cabinet, Mr Antonio Preto.

The conference was attended by around 560 participants and was accompanied by an exhibition on innovative transport technologies with stands and information materials.



Related documents

Conference material

Summary record pdf - 88 KB [88 KB]

Participants list pdf - 537 KB [537 KB]

Agenda pdf - 27 KB [27 KB]

Recordings of the conference

Day 1

Introductory session; Freight Transport Workshop

Passengers Transport Workshop

Urban Transport Workshop

Day 2

Main findings of the workshops; A future of sustainable mobility

Presentations and speeches

Welcome address, Karel Van Miert – former Commission Vice-President and Transport Commissioner 

Opening Speech – Setting the Scene , Antonio Tajani – Vice President of the EU Commission and Commissioner in charge of Transport Policy

The European Parliament , Paolo Costa MEP – Chairman of the Committee on Transport and Tourism of the European Parliament

The EU Presidency, Pavel ┼ákvára, Deputy Minister for Transport, Czech Republic

A Member State perspective, Leif Zetterberg, State Secretary – Ministry for Communications, Sweden

The achievements of the Common Transport Policies and the on-going reflections on the future , Matthias Ruete – Director General, DG Transport and Energy – EU Commission

Addressing the climate challenge for transport , Karl Falkenberg – Director General, DG Environment – EU Commission




•   Urban transport

     Gábor Demszky , Mayor of Budapest and representative of EUROCITIES;

     Marco Filippeschi , Mayor of Pisa;

     Peter Hendy , Commissioner of Transport for London;

     Sophie Boissard , Directrice de la Stratégie ferroviaire et de la Régulation SNCF;

     Piero Borghini, SEA (Milan Airports);

     Ivan Hodac , Secretary General ACEA;

     Léandre Boulez, Import Export Managing Director Auchan Group.


 •  Passengers Transport

     Jean-Cyril Spinetta, CEO Air France;

     Mauro Moretti, CEO Ferrovie dello Stato;

     Cyrille du Peloux , CEO Veolia Transport;

     David Evans , Managing Director Arriva;

     Emanuele Grimaldi , CEO Grimaldi Group;

     Wil Botman , Director General FIA.


•   Freight Transport

     Hans-Georg Werner, CEO Business Segment Intermodal, Deutsche Bahn AG;

     Alfons Guinier , Secretary General ECSA (European Community Shipowners’ Associations);

     Victor Schoenmakers, Director of the Port of Rotterdam and Chairman ESPO (European Sea Port Organisation);

     Janusz Lacny , CEO JMJ-TRANS and president of IRU;

     Ola Johnsson, CEO LKAB;

     Karin De Schepper, Secretary General INE (Inland Navigation Europe);

     Charles Graham , CEO Global Aviation DHL Express.





Main findings of the workshops

•    Urban transport

     Rapporteur: Sylvain Haon, Executive Director POLIS (Network of cities and regions for better transport)

•    Passengers transport

     Rapporteur: Trevor Garrod, Chairman EPF (European Passengers Federation)

•    Freight transport

     Rapporteur: Marco Sorgetti, Director General CLECAT (European Association for forwarding, transport, logistic and customs services)


A future of Sustainable Mobility

Prof. Dr. Werner Rothengatter , IWW, Universität Karlsruhe;

Eduardo Chagas, General Secretary ETF (European Transport Workers’ Federation);

Jos Dings, Director T&E (European Federation for Transport and Environment);

Hermann Meyer , CEO ERTICO – ITS Europe (public/private partnership for the development and deployment of Intelligent Transport Systems);

János Tóth, President of the European Economic and Social Committee (EESC) Section for Transport, Energy, Information Society and Services of General Interest;

Michael Svane , Director Confederation of Danish Industry and representative of BUSINESSEUROPE.


Closing remarks, Karel Van Miert