Navigation path

Additional tools

Commission appoints eleven European coordinators for the new transport infrastructure policy

12 March 2014

The European Commission appointed European coordinators for each of the nine core network corridors of the trans-European transport network (or TEN-T), as well as for the European Rail Traffic Management System (ERTMS) and for Motorways of the Sea. The core TEN-T transport network creates two North–South corridors, three East–West corridors; and four diagonal corridors. The core network will transform East–West connections, remove bottlenecks, upgrade infrastructure and streamline cross-border transport operations for passengers and businesses throughout the EU. It will improve connections between different modes of transport and contribute to the EU's climate change objectives. The coordinators will be responsible for coordinating priority transport projects and reporting back to the Commission.

Vice-President Siim Kallas said: "The appointment of these coordinators marks further progress in implementing the core TEN-T network. Their role will be essential to make the corridors a success and start a new era of participation. The new EU transport infrastructure is off to a good start."

Most of the coordinators have already gained wide experience of EU transport policy implementation over the last eight years working on the TEN-T priority projects:

  • Pavel Telicka (North Sea–Baltic corridor)
  • Pat Cox (Scandinavian–Mediterranean corridor)
  • Carlo Secchi (Atlantic Corridor),
  • Péter Balázs (North Sea–Mediterranean corridor)
  • Laurens Jan Brinkhorst (Mediterranean corridor)
  • Karel Vinck (ERTMS)
  • Karla Peijs (Rhine–Danube corridor)

have been reappointed for a period of four years.

There are also four new coordinators who will bring wide political experience to the tasks ahead:

  • Former Spanish Foreign Minister Ana de Palacio will be responsible for the Rhine–Alpine corridor
  • Former German Minister for Transport Kurt Bodewig takes on the Baltic–Adriatic corridor.
  • MEP Brian Simpson (Motorways of the Sea) and
  • MEP Mathieu Grosch (Orient/East–Med corridor)

are experienced transport politicians and will take up their duty as TEN-T Coordinators in July 2014 after the current European Parliament mandate ends.

The new coordinators will now enter into contact with Member States authorities and ministers to discuss the framework for cooperation and implementation of their mandates.

The Member States and the European Parliament have been fully involved in the process of nominating the coordinators.

Details of the new European TEN-T coordinators can be found on: