Navigation path

Additional tools


West Balkans and Turkey

Implementing rail safety and interoperability in the West Balkans and Turkey

The European Railway Agency organises workshops and study visits in railway safety and interoperability. Officials of the seven West Balkan partners, i.e. Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Kosovo, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro and Serbia, in charge of these dossiers will be invited to attend a series of seminars, training sessions and participate in the network meetings of EU safety authorities, accident investigation bodies and notified bodies as trainees or, later, as observers. This measure is to promote EU railway compliant implementation of safety and interoperability rules. 

Railway policy in the West Balkans

The West Balkans is a region comprising, for the purpose of the present section, Albania, Bosnia-Hercegovina, Croatia, Kosovo, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro and Serbia.

The Cosmos project

The Cosmos project provides good practice on short to long measures for developing intermodal rail freight services on the South East European axis.


Related documents

Memorandum of Understanding

Addendum to the Memorandum of Understanding at the 3rd Ministerial Meeting on 4 December 2007 pdf - 143 KB [143 KB]

Working Group Railways and Intermodality

Declaration on railways pdf - 240 KB [240 KB]


Railway Reform in the Western Balkans : the World Bank report on rail reform gives an overview of the situation in the railway sector as of mid 2005


Western Balkans Communication - 5 March 2008

Declaration on railways - 1 December 2006