Current portal location

Current portal location

Website content

Countries and regions



The EU's trade with the Pacific states (Papua New Guinea and Fiji) is set by an Economic Partnership agreement.

The agreement was ratified by the European Parliament in January 2011 and by Papua New Guinea in May 2011. The government of Fiji decided to apply the agreement in July 2014.

Samoa and the Solomon Islands have recently informed the European Commission of their intentions to join the EPA. An accession procedure is now underway.

Trade picture

Pacific countries:

Cook Islands, Fiji, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Federal State of Micronesia, Nauru, Niue, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Samoa American, Samoa Western, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu

  • EU imports from the Pacific region are dominated by palm oil, coffee, coconut, and fish and caviar.
  • EU exports to the Pacific region are dominated by electrical machinery and equipment.
  • Overall, trade between the EU and the Pacific countries is very small both in absolute and in relative terms.



EU-Pacific Countries: Trade in goods

Trade in goods 2015-2017, € billions
Year EU imports EU exports Balance
2015 1.3 1.8 0.5
2016 1.1 2.0 1.0
2017 1.3 1.5 0.1

Date of retrieval: 16/04/2018

More statistics on the Pacific region

EU and the Pacific region

Six countries in the Pacific region are currently members of the WTO: Fiji, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga and Vanuatu.

The EU concluded negotiations on an Economic Partnership Agreement with Papua New Guinea and Fiji in 2007.

The Economic Partnership Agreement between the EU, Fiji and Papua New Guinea liberalises trade in goods with the EU. The agreement includes:

  • Duty-free and quota-free exports from Papua New Guinea and Fiji into the EU as of 1 January 2008
  • The asymmetric and gradual opening of their markets to EU goods, taking full account of differences in levels of development and sensitive sectors  
  • Papua New Guinea liberalised 88% of EU imports from day one
  • Fiji is liberalising 87% of EU imports over 15 years
  • Both countries have excluded some products from sensitive sectors and those important for revenue from this liberalisation
  • Pacific States can reintroduce duties and quotas if imports from the EU disturb or threaten to disturb the local economy
  • Rules on technical barriers to trade (TBT) and sanitary and phytosanitary (SPS) measures to help Pacific exporters meet EU import standards
  • Efficient customs procedures and better co-operation between administrations

More information on the Economic Partnership Agreement between the EU, Fiji and Papua New Guinea
The Agreement is open for the other 12 ACP Pacific countries to join. These include the Cook Islands, Federal State of Micronesia, Kiribati, the Marshall Islands, Nauru, Niue, Palau, Samoa, the Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu and Vanuatu.

Economic Partnership Agreements set out to help African Caribbean and Pacific (ACP) countries to improve their trade.

Trading with the Pacific region