Navigation path

Generic Tax Name Tax on lotteries, gambling and betting - Betting tax
Tax name in the national language Φόρος Στοιχημάτων
Tax name in English Betting tax
Member State CY-Cyprus
Tax in force since 1997/07/01
If abolished, date on which the tax ceases to apply 2007/12/10
Business version date 2015/01/01
Version date 2015/02/17
This file was last updated on

Type of tax
Direct taxes Personal income tax
Corporate income tax

Indirect taxes VAT
Excise duty (EU harmonised)
Alcoholic beverages
Energy products and electricity
Manufactured tobacco

Social security contribution Employers
Legal base

The Collective Bets (Regulation and Taxation) Laws of 1997 to 2007.

Who sets
The tax rate is set by

The tax base is set by

The reliefs are set by



Geographical Scope

The Republic of Cyprus.


Up until 9/12/2007 the tax was paid by the punter.

The law was amended and as from 10/12/2007 the tax is paid by the bookmaker.

Tax object and basis of assessment

Before 10/12/2007: The tax was imposed on every bet on sports games and burdened the punter.

After 10/12/2007: The tax burdens the bookmaker and it is imposed on the gross profit from betting.

Before 10/12/2007: 25% on every bet on sports game paid by the punter.

After 10/12/2007: 10% on the gross profit from betting of the bookmaker.

Gross profit = total takings minus total winnings.

Deductions, Allowances, Credits, Exemptions

Rate(s) Structure


Tax due date

Before 10/12/2007: Weekly

After 10/12/2007: Monthly

Tax collector

Accountant General

Special features

According to the Collective Bets (Regulation and Taxation) Law of 1997 a betting tax of 25% on every bet was paid by the punter.

With the amended Law of 2007 which came into effect on 10th December 2007, a betting tax of 10% on the gross profit is paid by the bookmaker.

The revenue figures given below are based on the 1997 law.

Economic function

Environmental taxes

Tax revenue
ESA95 code d214fb + d214fd

Annual tax revenue (millions)
Tax revenue as % of GDP
Tax revenue as % of total tax revenue
2012 1.95 EUR 0.01
2011 1.95 EUR 0.01
2010 2.33 EUR 0.01
2009 2.35 EUR 0.01
2008 2.60 EUR 0.01
2007 5.20 EUR 0.03
2006 7.30 EUR 0.04
2005 7.80 EUR 0.05
2004 10.40 EUR 0.07
2003 10.20 EUR 0.08
2002 12.40 EUR 0.10
2001 13.40 EUR 0.12
2000 14.40 EUR 0.13