Important legal notice
Contact | Search  
More information on René Descartes

  Descartes prizes

  • The Grand Jury 2007


    The President

    Ms Claudie Haigneré
    Senior advisor to ESA Director-General, France

    The members

    Professor Jan Balzarini
    Rega Institute for Medical Research Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium
    Descartes Prize winner in 2001

    Professor Dr Sci. Tatiana Birshtein
    Principal Scientist of the Institute of Macromolecular Compounds of the Russian Academy of Sciences
    Professor of the St. Petersburg State University
    Winner of the l'Oréal-UNESCO “Women in Science? prize 2007 – Europe

    Professor Pierre Coullet
    Professor at the University of Nice, France, and Senior Member of the Institut Universitaire de France

    Professor Patrick Cunningham
    Chief Scientific Adviser to the Irish Government

    Professor Christina Gavrilovici
    Associated Professor in Bioethics, University of Medicine and Pharmacy IASI, Romania, and Romanian Bioethics Committee

    Mr Andrzej Górski
    Vice-president, Polish Academy of Sciences, and Professor of Medicine, The Medical University of Warsaw

    Professor Elmars Grens
    Scientific Director of the Latvian Biomedical Research and Study Centre

    Professor Nouzha Guessous-Idrissi
    Medical Biologist and Parasitologist. Former Professor at the Medical School of Casablanca (1985-2005)
    Researcher and consultant in Human Rights and Bioethics
    Member of the International Bioethics Committee of UNESCO (former President 2005-2007)

    Professor Lucia Mendoça Previato
    Brazilian Academy of Science
    Winner of the L'Oréal-UNESCO “Women in Science? prize 2004

    Professor Gretty M. Mirdal
    Department of Psychology, University of Copenhagen Denmark

    Professor Mary Osborn
    Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry, Goettingen, Germany
    Winner of the L'Oréal-UNESCO “Women in Science? Prize 2002 – Europe
    Past President of the International Union of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (IUBMB)

    Dr Rossella Palomba
    Director of Research at the National Research Council- Institute for Population and Social Policies, Italy

    Dr Karen Siune
    Director of the Danish Centre for Studies in Research and Research Policy at the University of Aarhus, Denmark

    Professor Edward Van den Heuvel
    Professor of Astrophysics at the University of Amsterdam (UA), The Netherlands
    Descartes prize winner in 2002


Grand Jury 2000 - 2001 - 2002 - 2003 - 2004 - 2006

Descartes Prizes:    2005  2004  2003  2002  2001  2000