IMPORTANT LEGAL NOTICE - The information on this site is subject to a disclaimer and a copyright notice.

European FlagEuropa
The European Commission


Quality of Life


Agricultural Research in the European Research Area


Tuesday, December 5th 2000

1st session - Chairman Mr Lebossť (Director general for
Education and Research - French Ministry of Agriculture)
9:30 Opening speeches by Mr Glavany, French Minister of Agriculture and Fisheries and by Mr Fischler, European Commissioner of Agriculture
10:10 Open discussion with the Conference participants
10:30 Coffee break

(10:30 : Press conference - Commissioner Fischler and Minister Glavany)
11:00 Presentation of the results of the seminar 'CAP and multifunctionality of Agriculture in the European Research Area' by Mr Zabeau (EPSO, BE- representative) and discussion)
13:00 Lunch

Session - Chairman Mr M. Campli (President Cogeca)
14:30 Presentation of the results of the seminar 'European Research Area, Agriculture and Environment' by Mr Mikkelsen (Deputy Director, DIAS-Foulum, DK) and discussion
15:30 Coffee break
16:00 Set-up of 7 sub-groups to discuss the conclusions of the three seminars and make recommendations for the implementation of ERA

SG1: Science and Governance
Chairman Mr Matthiesen (Director of Research - Directorate for Food, Fisheries and Agro-Business, DK)

SG2: Opening of national research programmes
Chairman Mr Shannon (Chief Scientist MAFF, UK)

SG3: Role of the European regions
Chairman Mr Werrij (Secretary General EURAGRI, NL)

SG4: Centres of Excellence
Chairman Mr Ritter (BML, DE)

SG5: Infrastructure
Chairman Mrs Guillou (Director General INRA, FR)

SG6: Integration of adhesion countries
Chairman Mr Zagorski-Ostoja (Director Inst. Biochemistry &Biophysics, Polish Academy of Sciences, PL)

SG7: Mobility of researchers
Chairman Mr Tarrago (Director General  IRTA, ES)

18:30 End of the works in sub-groups
20:00 Dinner

Wednesday, December 6th 2000

3rd Session - Chairman: Mr Hansen (Director of Life Sciences Research, European Commission)
9:00 Presentation of agricultural research in the United States by Mr Knipling (Associate Administrator of the Agriculturl Research Service, USDA)
9:40 Presentation of the conclusions of SG1 (Mr Matthiesen) and SG3 (Mr Werrij)
10:20 Coffee Break
10:50 Presentation of conclusions of SG2 (Mr Shannon), SG4 (Mr Ritter), SG5 (Mrs Guillou), SG6 5Mr Zgorski-Ostoja), SG7 (Mr Tarrago)
12:30 Lunch

Roundtable : Moderator Mrs d'Ambert (Radio France)
14:00 Opening of the debate: Mrs Bjerregaad (DK Minister for Food, Agriculture abd Fisheries)
Participants: Mr Devish (President of Copa), Mr Meloni (Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Eridania-Beghin Say), Mr Evers (Natuurmonumenten, NL), Members of Parliament (Comagri and ITRE) and Mrs Bjerregaard (DK Minister for Food, Agriculture and Fisheries).
15:45 Closing speeches by Mr Busquin (European Commissioner for Research)
Mr Schwartzenberg, (FrenchMinister for Research), Mrs Bladh (SW Secretary of State, Ministry of Education and Science)
16:30 End of the conference

Mrs Bladh, Mr Schwartzenberg and Mr Busquin will have a meeting the Press just after the Conference is closed.



What's New ?


Site Map