IMPORTANT LEGAL NOTICE - The information on this site is subject to adisclaimerand acopyright notice
 
Contact   |   Search on EUROPA  
European Research News Centre - Homepage
Graphic
Weekly Headlines RTD info magazine Diary Press releases Contacts
Graphic
image European Research News Centre > European Research Policy > R&D address book for the candidate countries
image image
image image image Date published: 07/11/02
  image R&D address book for the candidate countries
RTD info special
"EU enlargement"
image    
   
Bulgaria Bulgaria Lithuania Lithuania
Cyprus Cyprus Malta Malta
Czech Republic Czech Republic Poland Poland
Estonia Estonia Romania Romania
Hungary Hungary Slovakia Slovakia
Latvia Latvia Slovenia Slovenia


Bulgaria

FP5 and FP6 national coordinator

Albena Vutsova
Ministry of Education and Science, Sofia
Tel. +359 2 9808988
Fax +359 2 9811404
a.vutsova@minedu.government.bg
http://www.minedu.government.bg/

Centres of excellence

Bulgarian Information Society
Centre of Excellence for Education,
Science and Technology in 21st
Century (BIS-21), Sofia
Bulgarian Academy of Sciences, Central Laboratory for Parallel Processing
Contact: Ivan Dimov
ivdimov@bas.bg
http://saturn.acad.bg/

Bulgarian Centre of Excellence in Plant Biotechnology (Excellent Plant Biotec), Kostinbrod
AgroBioInstitute, Institute of Genetic Engineering
Contact: Atanas Atanassov
Tel. +359 721 2552
Fax +359 721 4985
geneng@mtel.net http://www.geocities.com/picketfence/garden/9151/

Centre for Sustainable Development and Management of the Black Sea Region (CESUM-BS), Varna
Bulgarian Academy of Sciences,
Institute of Oceanology
Contact: Snejana Moncheva
Tel. +359 527 74183
Fax +359 527 74183
cesum-bs@io-bas.bg
http://www.io-bas.bg/cesum-bs/

Innovation Relay Centre

IRC Bulgaria, Sofia
Applied Research and Communications Fund (ARC Fund)
Contact: Zoya Damianova
Tel. +359 298 67557
Fax +359 298 01833
irc@online.bg
http://www.irc.bg/


Cyprus

FP5 and FP6 national coordinator

Costas Iacovou
University of Cyprus, Planning Bureau, Nicosia
Tel. +359 230 2642
Fax +359 266 6810
eacovou@ucy.ac.cy
http://www.ucy.ac.cy/

Centres of excellence

Centre of Excellence in Agriculture and Environment (ARICY), Nicosia
Agricultural Research Institute of Cyprus
Contact: Ioannis Papadopoulous
Tel. +357 230 5101
Fax +357 231 6770
papado@arinet.ari.gov.cy
http://www.ari.gov.cy/

Centre of Excellence on
Computational Finance and
Economics (Hermes), Nicosia
University of Cyprus, Centre for
Banking and Financial Research
Contact: Stavros Zenios
Tel. +357 289 2498
Fax +357 289 2460
zenioss@ucy.ac.cy
http://www.hermes.ucy.ac.cy/

Innovation Relay Centre

IRC Cyprus, Lefkosia
Cyprus Institute of Technology
Contact: Costas Konis
Tel. +357 281 3114
Fax +357 231 7333
think@cy.net
http://www.technology.org.cy/


Czech Republic

FP5 and FP6 national coordinator

Karel Klusacek
Technology Centre, Prague
Tel. +420 2 203 90700
Fax +420 2 209 22698
klusacek@tc.cas.cz
http://www.tc.cas.cz/

Centres of excellence

Machine Intelligence Research and Application Centre for Learning Excellence (Miracle), Prague
Czech Technical University, Faculty of Electrical Engineering, Department of Cybernetics
Contact: Vladimir Marlk
Tel. +420 2 2435 7421
Fax +420 2 2435 7224
marik@labe.felk.cvut.cz
http://cyber.felk.cvut.cz/MIRACLE/html/index.html

EU Centre of Excellence (Medipra), Prague
Institute of Experimental Medicine
Contact: Eva Sykova
Tel. +420 2 4106 2204
Fax +420 2 4106 2783
sykova@biomed.cas.cz
http://uemweb.biomed.cas.cz/medipra.html

Advanced Research Centre for Cultural Heritage Interdisciplinary Projects (Arcchip), Prague
Institute of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics, Academy of Sciences of the Czech Republic
Contact: Milos Drdácky
Tel. +420 2 8688 5382
Fax +420 2 8688 4634
drdacky@itam.cas.cz

Innovation Relay Centre

IRC Czech Republic, Prague
Technology Centre AS CR
Contact:
Karel Klusacek
Tel. +420 2 203 90700
Fax +420 2 209 22698
klusacek@tc.cas.cz
http://www.tc.cas.cz/


Estonia

FP5 national coordinator

Rein Vaikmäe
Ministry of Education, Tartu
Tel. +372 628 1311
Fax +372 628 1390
Rein.vaikmae@hm.ee
http://www.hm.ee/eng/index.php

Centres of excellence

Genetics for the next Millennium
(Genemill), Tartu
Estonian Biocentre
Contact: Richard Villems
Tel. +372 7 375 011
Fax +372 7 420 286
rvillems@ebc.ee
http://www.tymri.ut.ee/genemill.html#GMSISU

Regional Centre of Excellence in New Functional Materials, their Design, Diagnostics and Exploitation
(Estomaterials), Tartu
University of Tartu, Institute of Physics
Contact: Kristjan Haller
Tel. +372 7 428 102
Fax +372 7 383 033
haller@fi.tartu.ee
http://www.fi.tartu.ee/ce/introduction.htm

Innovation Relay Centre

IRC Estonia, Tartu
Archimedes Foundation
Contact: Rene Tonnisson
Tel. +372 7 300 329
Fax +372 7 300 336
rene@ibs.ee
http://www.irc.ee/


Hungary

FP5 national coordinator

Sándor Darányi
Ministry of Education, Research and Development Division, Department for International R&D Affairs, Budapest
Tel. +36 1 3184 232
Fax +36 1 2662 055
sandor.daranyi@om.hu
http://www.om.hu/

Centres of excellence

Mathematics in the Information Society (Mathias), Budapest
Hungarian Academy of Sciences, Alfréd Rényi Institute of Mathematics
Contact: Dezsó Miklós
Tel +36 1 483 8321
Fax +36 1 483 8333
dezso@renyi.hu
http://www.renyi.hu/

Regional Initiative for Improvement of Quality of Life through Research, Education, and Innovation in Molecular Cell Biology (Bioregion-Szeged), Szeged
Hungarian Academy of Sciences,
Biological Research Centre
Contact: Dénes Dudits
Tel. +36 62 433 388
Fax +36 62 433 188
dudits@nucleus.szbk.u-szeged.hu
http://www.szbk.u-szeged.hu/

A Bridge for Scholarship between east and west (Bridge), Budapest
Collegium Budapest, Institute for Advanced Study
Contact: Gábor Klaniczay
Tel. +36 1 224 8313
Fax + 36 1 224 8310
klaniczay@colbud.hu
http://www.colbud.hu/main/OverviewSection/overview.html

Centre of Excellence in Information Technology, Computer Science and Control (HUN-TING), Budapest
Hungarian Academy of Sciences, Computer and Automation Research Institute
Contact: Peter Inzelt
Tel. +36 1 466 5435
Fax +36 1 466 7503
inzelt@sztaki.hu
http://www.sztaki.hu/sztaki/coe/hunting_summary.jhtml

Neuroscience Serving Regional Integration, Higher Education and Welfare of the Society (Euro-Neuro-Networks), Budapest
Hungarian Academy of Sciences, Institute of Experimental Medicine
Contact: Sylvester Vizi
Tel. +36 1 210 9400 (ext. 171)
Fax +36 1 210 9423
esvizi@koki.hu
http://www.koki.hu/CE/index.html

Condensed Matter Research Centre (KFKI-CMRC), Budapest
Hungarian Academy of Sciences, Research Institute for Solid State Physics and Optics
Contact: Ágnes Buka
Tel. +36 1 395 9173
ab@power.szfki.kfki.hu
http://www.kfki.hu/~cmrc/

Innovation Relay Centre

IRC Hungary, Budapest
Budapest University of Technology and Economics - National Technical Information Centre and Library (OMIKK)
Contact: Gyula Nyerges
Tel. +36 1 457 5365
Fax +36 1 457 5341
nyerges@info.omikk.bme.hu
http://irc.omikk.hu/


Latvia

FP5 and FP6 national coordinator

Arnolds Ubelis
University of Latvia - Institute of Atomic Physics and Spectroscopy, Riga
Tel. +37 1 722 9727
Fax +37 1 782 0113
arnolds@latnet.lv
http://www.zinatne-5.lv/

FP6 national coordinator

Valdis Egle
Ministry of Education and Science, Riga
Tel: +371-7047902
Fax: +371-7243126
valdis.egle@izm.gov.lv
http://www.zinatne-5.lv/

Centre of excellence

Centre for Advanced Material Research and Technology (Camart), Riga
University of Latvia, Institute of Solid State Physics
Contact: Andris Sternberg
Tel. +37 1 718 7816
Fax +37 1 713 2778
stern@latnet.lv
http://www.cfi.lu.lv/camart/default.htm

Innovation Relay Centre

IRC Latvia, Riga
Latvian Technology Centre
Contact: Gundega Lapina
Tel. +371 754 0703
Fax +371 754 0709
gundegal@edi.lv
http://www.innovation.lv/irc/


Lithuania

FP6 national coordinator

Neringa Kranauskiene
Agency for International Science and Technology
Development Programmes, Vilnius
Tel: +370-5-2644715
Fax: +370-5-2312292
n.kranauskiene@ktl.mii.lt

FP5 national coordinator

Juras Ulbikas
Ministry of Education and Science, Department of Science and Higher Education, Vilnius
Tel. +370 2 616 433, +370 2 223 779
Fax +370 2 626 720
ulbikas@uj.pfi.lt
http://www.5fp.lt/

Centre of Excellence

Cell Biology and Lasers: towards new technologies
(Cebiola), Vilnius
Vilnius University, UNESCO Associated Centre of Excellence for Research and Training in Basic Sciences
Contact: Benediktas Juodka
Tel. +370 2 687 010
Fax +370 2 687 009
benediktas.juodka@cr.vu.lt
http://www.mif.vu.lt/unesco/

Innovation Relay Centre

IRC Lithuania, Vilnius
Lithuanian Innovation Centre
Contact: Kastytis Ge_as
Tel. +370 2 232 780
Fax +370 2 232 781
kgecas@ktl.mii.lt
http://www.lic.lt/


Malta

FP6 national coordinator

Janet Mifsud
University of Malta, Msida
Tel: +356-2-3402845
Fax: +356-2-1320181
janet.mifsud@um.edu.mt
http://www.um.edu.mt/

FP5 national coordinator

Jennifer Cassingena Harper
Malta Council for Science and Technology, Valetta
Tel. +356 23 602 125
Fax +356 21 660 341
jharper@mcst.org.mt
http://www.mcst.org.mt/

Innovation Relay Centre

IRC Malta, Kalkara
Malta Council for Science and Technology
Contact: Wilfred Kenely
Tel. +356 23 843 246
Fax +356 21 441 106
wkenely@mcst.org.mt


Poland

FP6 national coordinator

Jerzy Supel
IFTR PAS, Institute of Fundamental Technological Research,
Polish Academy of Sciences, Warsaw
Tel: +48-22-8269812
Fax: +48-22-8285370
jsupel@ippt.gov.pl
http://www.npk.gov.pl/

FP5 national coordinator

Andrzej Siemaszko
IPPT PAN, Warsaw
Tel. +48 22 826 2502
Fax +48 22 828 5370
asiemasz@ippt.gov.pl
http://www.npk.gov.pl/

Centres of excellence

Designed Molecules and Macromolecules, their Assemblies and Biological Functions (Desmol), Lodz
Polish Academy of Sciences, Centre of Molecular and Macromolecular Studies
Contact: Przemyslaw Kubisa
Tel. +48 42 681 9608
pkubisa@bilbo.cbmm.lodz.pl
http://www.cbmm.lodz.pl/

High Pressure: a Competitive Method for the Advancement of Multi-disciplinary Research and Industrial Applications (High Pressure), Warsaw
Polish Academy of Sciences,
High Pressure Research Centre
Contact: Witold Lojkowski
Tel. +48 22 632 4302
Fax: +48 22 632 4218
wl@unipress.waw.pl
http://www.unipress.waw.pl/

Centre of Excellence for Knowledge Transfer and Education in Food and Health for Central and Eastern Europe (Cenexfood), Olsztyn
Polish Academy of Sciences, Institute of Animal Reproduction and Food Research, Division of Food Science
Contact: Halina Kozlowska
Tel. +48 89 523 4686
Fax +48 89 524 0124
haka@pan.olsztyn.pl
http://www.pan.olsztyn.pl/index0.html

Excellence in Molecular Biotechnology (EMBEU), Warsaw
Polish Academy of Sciences, Institute of Biochemistry and Biophysics
Contact: Andrzej Rabczenko
Tel. +48 22 823 7189
Fax +48 22 658 4636
cemb@ibb.waw.pl
http://www.ibb.waw.pl/Centr-Dosk/C-D-mol.html

Centre of Excellence for Advanced Materials and Structures (AMAS), Warsaw
Polish Academy of Sciences, Institute of Fundamental Technological Research
Contact: Zenon Mróz
Tel. +48 22 8277 571
Fax +48 22 8269 815
zmroz@ippt.gov.pl
http://www.ippt.gov.pl/amas/

The Stefan Banach International Mathematical Centre of Excellence (IMPAN-BC), Warsaw
Polish Academy of Sciences, Institute of Mathematics
Contact: Feliks Przytycki
Tel. +48 22 522 8110
Fax +48 22 629 3997
feliksp@impan.gov.pl
http://www.impan.gov.pl/Excellence/

Physics and Fabrication of Low Dimensional Structures for Technologies of Future Generations (Celdis), Warsaw
Polish Academy of Sciences, Institute of Physics
Contact: Jacek Kossut
Tel. +48 22 843 1331
Fax +48 22 843 1331
kossut@ifpan.edu.pl
http://info.ifpan.edu.pl/celdis/

Molecular Biotechnology - Integration of Education and Research (BIER), Cracow
Jagiellonian University, The Jan Zurzycki Institute of Molecular Biology
Contact: Kazimierz Strza_ka
Tel. +48 12 252 6509
Fax +48 12 252 6902
strzalka@mol.uj.edu.pl

Centre for Advanced Manufacturing Technologies (CAMT), Wroclaw
Wroclaw University of Technology, Institute of Production Engineering and Automation
Contact: Jan Koch
Tel. +48 71 320 2067
Fax +48 71 328 0670
j.koch@camt.pl
http://www.camt.pl/

Innovation Relay Centre
IRC South Poland, Cracow
Cracow University of Technology
Contact: Tomasz Maczuga
Tel. +48 12 628 28 45
tel/fax +48 12 632 47 95
maczuga@transfer.edu.pl
http://www.transfer.edu.pl/ircpk/eng/index.htm

IRC East Poland, Warsaw
OPI - Information Processing Centre
Contact: Krystyna Siwek
Tel. +48 22 825 5819
Fax +48 22 825 3319
ksiwek@opi.org.pl
http://www.opi.org.pl/

IRC West Poland, Wroclaw
Wroclaw Centre for Technology
Transfer
Contact: Grzegorz Gromada
Tel. +48 71 320 3912
Fax +48 71 320 3948
gromada@itma.pwr.wroc.pl
http://www.wctt.wroc.pl/


Romania

FP5 and FP6 national coordinator

Mircea Sbarna
Ministry of Education and Research, Bucharest
Tel. +40 12 109 275
Fax +40 12 109 275
msbarna@mct.ro
http://www.mct.ro/

Centres of excellence

Centre of Excellence for Deltas and Wetlands (Delwet), Tulcea
Ministry of Water and Environment Protection, Danube Delta National Institute For Research and Development
Contact: Mircea Staras
Tel. +40 40 53 1520
Fax +40 40 53 3547
mstaras@indd.tim.ro
http://www.indd.tim.ro/Excelenta/Centru.htm

Interdisciplinary Research and Applications based on Nuclear and Atomic Physics (Idranap), Bucharest
Horia Hulubei National Institute of Physics and Nuclear Engineering
(IFIN-HH)
Contact: Dorin Poenaru
Tel. +40 1 404 2390
Fax +40 1 423 1701
poenaru@ifin.nipne.ro
http://idranap.nipne.ro/

Function and Dysfunction of Blood Vessels (Blood Vessels), Bucharest
Romanian Academy, Institute of Cellular Biology and Pathology Nicolae Simionescu
Contact: Maya Simionescu
Tel. +40 21 411 0860
Fax +40 21 411 1143
simionescum@simionescu.instcellbiopath.ro
http://www.instcellbiopath.ro/

European Integration of the Romanian Mathematical Research Activity (Eurrommat), Bucharest
Contact: Radu Purice
Romanian Academy, Institute of
Mathematics Simion Stoilov
Tel. +40 1 650 6430
Fax +40 1 212 5126
Purice@stoilow.imar.ro
http://pompeiu.imar.ro/~eurrommat/Programme.php3

Innovation Relay Centre

IRC Romania, Bucharest
The Foundation Romanian Centre for Small and Medium-Sized Enterprises
Contact: Laurentiu Tachiciu
Tel. +40 1 310 4051
Fax +40 1 312 6966
ltachiciu@imm.ro
http://www.imm.ro/


Slovakia

FP6 national coordinators

Sona Strakova
Ministry of Education, Bratislava
Tel: +421-2-69202212
Fax: +421-2-69202203
strakova@education.gov.sk
http://www.education.gov.sk/

Martin Kedro
SARC, Bratislava
Tel: +421-2-65420337
Fax: +421-2-65420308
kedro@sarc.sk
http://www.sarc.sk/

FP5 national coordinator

Dusan Valachovic
Ministry of Education, Bratislava
Tel. +421 2 6920 2214
Fax +421 2 6920 2213
valachov@education.gov.sk
http://www.education.gov.sk/

Centres of excellence

Reduction of Negative Impact of Environmental Factors on Human Health (Stressnuts), Bratislava
Slovak Academy of Sciences, Institute of Experimental Endocrinology
Contact: Daniela Jezova
Tel. +421 2 5477 3800
Fax + 421 2 5477 4247
ueenjezo@savba.sk
http://www.endo.sav.sk/

Centre for Transportation Research (Cetra), Zilina
University of Zilina
Contact: Ladislav Skyva
Tel. +421 8 9562 0075
Fax +421 8 9562 0075
cetra@utc.sk
http://www.utc.sk/cetra/

Innovation Relay Centre

IRC Slovakia, Bratislava
BIC Bratislava
Contact: Stefan Vratny
Tel. +421 2 5441 7515
Fax +421 2 5441 7522
vratny@bicba.sk
http://www.bicba.sk/femircsk.htm


Slovenia

FP5 and FP6 national coordinator

Albin Babic
Ministry of Education, Science and Sport, Ljubljana
Tel. +386 14 78 4688
Fax +386 14 78 4719
albin.babic@gov.si
http://www.mszs.si/slo/

Centre of excellence

Use of NMR Spectroscopy in Combination with Computational Methods on Systems of Biological
Interest (Slonmr), Ljubljana
National Institute of Chemistry, NMR Centre
Contact: Janez Plavec
Tel. +386 1 4760 353
Fax +386 1 4259 244
janez.plavec@ki.si
http://www.ki.si/

Innovation Relay Centre

IRC Slovenia, Ljubljana
Josef Stefan Institute
Contact: Uros Stanic
Tel. +386 1 477 3311
Fax +386 1 251 9385
uros.stanic@ijs.si
http://www.ijs.si/

Ministry of Information Society
Office for International Relations,
Ljubljana
Tel. +386 1 478 8384
Fax +386 1 478 8375
lujdmila.tozon@gov.si
http://www2.gov.si/mid/mideng.nsf

 

Feature - element of navigation Previous

imageTop of the page

 


European Research News Centre - Homepage
Graphic
Weekly Headlines RTD info magazine Diary Press releases Contacts
Graphic