Nine Marie Skłodowska-Curie actions (MSCA) fellows contributed to the preparation of the data on gravitational waves that led to the Nobel Prize in Physics on Tuesday 4 October.

Jose M. González, Matthieu Gosselin, Imran Khan, Justus Schmidt, Akshat Singhal, Shubhanshu Tiwari, Daniel Töyrä, Serena Vinciguerra and Gang Wang work in GraWIToN, a project that received over €3,67 million through EU grants.

On Wednesday 5 October 2017, the Nobel Prize in Chemistry was awarded to Jacques Dubochet, Joachim Frank and Richard Henderson for developing cryo-electron microscopy for the high-resolution structure determination of biomolecules in solution.

Richard Henderson is Programme Leader at the Medical Research Council Laboratory of Molecular Biology and participated in the Marie Sklodowska-Curie Intra-European Fellowship MEMBRANE PROTEASES project, which investigated cellular signalling.

This brings to nine the number of MSCA fellows who have received a Nobel Prize.

The Marie Skłodowska-Curie actions provide grants for all stages of researchers' careers - be they doctoral candidates or highly experienced researchers - and encourage transnational, intersectoral and interdisciplinary mobility.