Navigation path

Call for Nominations - Marie Curie Prize

The Marie Curie Actions invite their current and former fellows to participate in this year's Marie Curie Prize contest. The competition will be held in three distinct categories:

  • Communicating Science ;
  • Innovation and Entrepreneurship; and
  • Promising Research Talent.

Application process will be based on nomination by a peer (colleague, professor, employer, host institution representative) who has the capacity to judge the fellow. For the Promising Research Talent category, nominated fellows must have obtained their research results as an early stage researcher* in an FP6 or FP7 Marie Curie project. For the other two categories, individuals – current or former Marie Curie Fellows from FP6 and FP7 - are eligible.

More information on how to submit your application is available in the nomination form.

The contest is open to all Marie Curie Fellows and alumni from FP6 and FP7.


The winners will be selected by a jury composed of prominent academics, scientists and experts in the different Prize categories:

Communicating Science Jury:

  • Prof. Anne Glover is the European Commission's Chief Scientific Advisor. Her role is to provide high level, independent and timely scientific advice at every stage of policy development and delivery and to promote science and its uptake in society. Prior to this appointment Prof. Glover was Chief Scientific Advisor to the Scottish government and Chair of Molecular and Cell Biology at the University of Aberdeen.
  • Claudio Rocco is Science and Technology Journalist, responsible for the Scientific magazines “Hi-Tech” and “Science” at EURONEWS.
  • Vincent Dusastre is Nature Materials Chief Editor since its launch in 2002. He gained his first degree in physical chemistry from the Université Paul Sabatier (Toulouse), followed by a MSc in materials science from the University of Kent. He holds a PhD from University College London and has postdoctoral research experience from Imperial College:

Innovation and Entrepreneurship Jury:

  • Charis Charalambous is the Chairman of the Council of the University of Cyprus General Manager of private Pharmaceutical Company. Former Minister of Health of the Republic of Cyprus, former vice chairman of the Electricity Authority of Cyprus, FAMELAB Jury member 2011.
  • Dr. Gitte Neubauer, Dr. Gitte Neubauer, Co-founder and Head of Cellzome, a GSK company. In 2011 she received the EU Woman Innovator Prize for the translation of her academic research into commercial application with the foundation of Cellzome, a drug discovery company.
  • Dr Frank Heemskerk has 15 years of experience in neurochemistry and pharmacology in the Netherlands, USA and France and then developed a strong track record in bringing small Bio-pharmaceutical companies to global success. In 2002 he started Research & Innovation Management Services, as an independent service provider focused on building Open Innovation networks to bring Knowledge from Academia to the Market.

Promising Research Talent Jury:

  • Prof. Christoforos Pissarides is a Nobel Prize winner in Economics for 2010. He is a Professor of Economics at the University of Cyprus and has served as Head of the Economics Department at LSE. Prof. Pissarides  is an elected Fellow of the British Academy, the Econometric Society, the European Economic Association and the Society of Labor Economists.
  • Maria Da Graça Carvalho is a Member of the European Parliament and the Committee on Industry, Research and Energy (ITRE). Graduated Mechanical Engineer at IST, Technical University of Lisbon. Ph.D. at the Imperial College of London in the area of energy intensive industries. Former Minister of Science and Higher Education and former Minister of Science, Innovation and Higher Education.
  • Pierre Joliot-Curie is a noted French biologist and researcher for the CNRS. He was a scientific advisor to the French Prime Minister from 1985 to 1986 and is a member of Academia Europæa. He was made a commander of the Ordre National du Mérite (English: the National Order of Merit) in 1982 and of the Légion d'honneur (English: Legion of Honor) in 1984. Pierre Joliot held the Chair of Cellular Bioenergetics (1981–2002) at the Collège de France and is now emeritus professor of it. Grandson of Marie Curie.


The Awards Ceremony of the Marie Curie Prize will be held at the occasion of the Cyprus Presidency Conference on 5-6 November in Nicosia, Cyprus.

The winners in each category will have their travel and accommodation costs for the conference reimbursed and will receive an award certificate and a trophy.


To submit an applicationnominators should fill in the Nomination Form below and send it to

Nominations deadline: 31 August 2012


*“Early-stage researchers” are researchers in the first 4 years of their research careers who have not yet been awarded a doctoral degree. Researchers funded under the FP7 Marie Curie IEF, IOF, IIF, CIG, ERG, IRG, RG or COFUND actions or under the FP6 Marie Curie EIF, OIF, IIF, IRG or ERG actions are not early-stage researchers.


For more information, please consult the relevant work programme under which you have received your grant:

Choose high-contrast version Set page to normal font size Increase font size by 200 percent Send this page to a friend print this page