Navigation path

EU Prize for Women Innovators


Get ready for the new edition of the contest!

The EU Prize for Women Innovators was launched in 2011 to give public recognition to outstanding women entrepreneurs who brought their innovative ideas to the market. The aim is to inspire other women to follow in their footsteps.

After two successful editions in 2011 and 2014, the European Commission will launch the third edition of the prize on 9 March 2015.

Three prizes will be awarded at the end of the competition:

  • 1st prize: €100 000
  • 2nd prize: €50 000
  • 3rd prize: €30 000

Contestants will be able to submit their entries from 9 March 2015 until 20 October 2015 (12:00 – Brussels time).

An independent panel of judges from business and academia will select the three winners who will be announced in 2016.

Photo of the Winners at the 2014 Ceremony
Award ceremony in 2014. From left to right: Máire Geoghegan-Quinn (European Commissioner for Research, Innovation and Science), Mark Rutte (Prime Minister of the Netherlands), Laura van 't Veer, Saskia Biskup, Ana Maiques, José Manuel Durão Barroso (President of the European Commission)


Who can participate in the contest?

The contest is open to all women who have founded or co-founded their company and who have at some point of their careers benefitted from the EU's research framework programmes, the EURATOM Framework Programme, the Competitiveness and Innovation framework programme (CIP) or actions relating to research and innovation under the European Structural and Investment Funds (known as the Structural Funds prior to 2014).

The contestant must reside in an EU Member State or a country associated to Horizon 2020, the EU's research and innovation programme.

The company must have been registered before 1 January 2013 and have had an annual turnover of at least EUR 100 000 in 2013 or 2014.




Back to Top