André Geim

Physicist and Nobel Prize Laureate in Physics 2010, University of Manchester

André Geim


  • Langworthy and Royal Society 2010 Anniversary Research Professor
  • Director of Manchester Centre for Mesoscience & Nanotechnology


  • University of Manchester
    Oxford Road, Manchester M13 9PL, UK
    Tel.: +44-(0)161-2754120


  • Netherlands (born in Russia, 21 Oct 1958)

Professional Career

  • 1982 MSc 1st class from the Moscow Physical-Technical Institute (“FizTeh”)
  • 1987 PhD at the Institute of Solid State Physics, Chernogolovka, Russia
  • 1987- 1990 Research Scientist at the Institute for Microelectronics Technology, Chernogolovka
  • 1990- 1994 Postdoctoral Fellow at the Universities of Nottingham, Bath and Copenhagen
  • 1994 -2000 Associate Professor (UHD), University of Nijmegen, Netherlands
  • 2001 -2007 Professor of Physics, University of Manchester, UK
  • 2007 -2010 EPSRC Senior Research Fellow
  • since 2002 Director, Centre for Mesoscience & Nanotechnology, University of Manchester
  • since 2007 Langworthy Professor of Physics, University of Manchester, UK
  • since 2010 Royal Society 2010 Anniversary Research Professor

Factual Summary

  • Published over 180 peer-refereed research papers, including 15 Nature and Science articles and many more in Physical Review Letters, Nature Materials, Nature Physics and Nature Nanotechnology. More than 30 of the papers are cited > 100 times, with 4 of them (Science 2004, Nature 2005, Nature Materials 2007and Rev. Mod. Phys. 2009) being cited >1000 times each.
  • According to ISI’s Essential Science IndicatorsSM, responsible for initiating two new research fronts (on graphene and on van-der-Waals adhesives).
  • More than 30 named and plenary lectures.


  • 2010 Royal Society Hughes Medal for “discovery of graphene and elucidation of its remarkable properties”
  • 2010 Nobel Prize for “groundbreaking experiments regarding the two-dimensional material graphene” (shared with Kostya Novoselov)
  • 2010 John J Carty Award from the US National Academy of Sciences for “realization and investigation of graphene, the two-dimensional form of carbon”
  • 2009 Körber Prize for having “developed the first two-dimensional crystals made of carbon atoms”
  • 2008 EuroPhysics Prize “for discovering and isolating a single free-standing atomic layer of carbon (graphene) and elucidating its remarkable electronic properties“ (shared with Kostya Novoselov)
  • 2007 elected Fellow of the Royal Society (UK national academy of sciences)
  • 2007 Mott Medal and Prize “for the discovery of a new class of materials – free-standing two-dimensional crystals – particularly graphene”


  • Honorary PhD (“doctor honoris causa”) from Delft University, ETH Zurich & University of Antwerp.
  • Elected to the Dutch Academy of Sciences (KNAW); Named among “Scientific American 50” in 2006
  • 2000 IgNobel Prize for “levitating frogs” (shared with Michael Berry)
  • According to Thomson-Reuters, among “hottest researchers” for 2009, 2010 and 2011
  • Research on superconductivity was chosen twice by AIP among 50 annual highlights (1998 & 1999)
  • “Einstein Professor” of the Chinese Academy of Sciences; Honorary Fellow of Singapore Institute of Physics; Fellow of the Institute of Physics (UK); EPSRC Senior Fellow (2007-2010)

Please note that CVs have been provided by the speakers and the European Commission takes no responsibility for their contents.