Navigation path

EU Prize for Women Innovators
What was new in the last 3 weeks

Week 9

Wednesday, 01 March 2017

  • Research Headlines
    • Silicon in a new light
      image of a micro chip on an electronic boardIn an early application of a new discovery in semiconductor physics, EU-funded researchers have developed a silicon infrared detector that is simpler and cheaper than conventional detectors. The ultimate goal is a silicon-based laser.

Tuesday, 28 February 2017

Monday, 27 February 2017

Week 8

Friday, 24 February 2017

Thursday, 23 February 2017

  • Research Headlines
    • Nuclear issues: who decides?
      image of nuclear power plantAn EU-funded project has empowered local communities and stakeholders in radioactive waste disposal decision-making. IPPA uses participatory approaches to improve public involvement in nuclear issues in Central and Eastern Europe.

Wednesday, 22 February 2017

Tuesday, 21 February 2017

  • Research Headlines
    • Safer roads for cyclists
      Picture cyclist on the highwayCyclists suffer a disproportionately high share of road accident injuries and fatalities. Through a combination of detection technologies, warning systems, information display and cooperation systems aimed at reducing collisions, EU-funded researchers are planning to cut fatality figures and make cycling safer.

Monday, 20 February 2017

Week 7

Friday, 17 February 2017

Thursday, 16 February 2017

Wednesday, 15 February 2017

Tuesday, 14 February 2017

Monday, 13 February 2017

Week 6

Friday, 10 February 2017

  • Research Headlines
    • Digital data solutions to improve transport mobility
      Picture of the two cows eating from precision feedersIn a bid to achieve problem-free and proactive mobility solutions for transport, the EU-funded OPTIMUM project is developing IT systems to monitor, gather and analyse multi-source big data on transportation behaviours. This will improve transit, freight transportation and congestion levels throughout Europe.

Thursday, 09 February 2017

  • Research Headlines
    • Of cattle conduct and climate change
      Picture of the two cows eating from precision feedersCattle produce methane, and methane emissions affect the climate - but there are differences in the amounts individual members of a herd contribute. Behaviour and stress play a role, say EU-funded researchers highlighting the importance of animal welfare. To boost feed efficiency and curb emissions, they note, we must respect the way of the cow.


Stay connected