European Science Advisors Forum (E S A F) - 3rd meeting


European Science Advisors Forum (E S A F) - 3rd meeting

29 June 2017, Amsterdam

The 3rd meeting of ESAF is taking place on 29th June 2017, in Amsterdam. It will be hosted by the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW) and the Netherlands Scientific Council for Government Policy (WRR).

ESAF is an independent, informal forum of European science-based strategic policy advisers. Among its primary aims are to contribute to strengthening the evidence base for policy-making and to share best practices in providing scientific advice for policy. ESAF may use synergies between scientific advice structures at national and European level, including SAM.  ESAF is independent of SAM and driven by its members.

The members of ESAF are EU Member State representatives, who have been nominated following a request of Commissioner Moedas to the Member States' Ministers responsible for Research and Innovation in 2016. The following Member States are currently members of the ESAF: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, the Netherlands, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and the United Kingdom. The European Commission also takes part.

The Director General of Research and Innovation Robert-Jan Smits will attend the 3rd ESAF meeting. Rolf Heuer, chair of the High Level Group and other members of the SAM HLG will also take part.

Related documentation