Important legal notices
Contact   |   Search   



Basic Research Policy in the ERA - Chronology

European Research Council

Structure of the ERC

Scientific Council of ERC

The ERC Identification Committee




The ERC Scientific Council

Following an independent identification process, 22 renowned scientists and scholars were nominated by the Commission as members of the ERC Scientific Council. The composition and the combined experience of the members of the Scientific Council reflect the broad domains of research covered by the ERC. The founding members were announced in July 2005 by Commissioner Potocnik.

Read the press release of 18 July 2005.

The first meeting of the Scientific Council took place in Brussels on 18-19 October 2005, marking a historical milestone in European Research policy and a major step in the creation of the ERC. The Scientific Council members elected Professor Fotis Kafatos as Chairman of the Scientific Council, and Dr. Daniel Estève and Professor Helga Nowotny as Vice-Chairs.

Read the press release of 18 October 2005.

At its second meeting, the Scientific Council began an intensive programme of work to prepare for the start-up of the ERC at the beginning of the 7th Framework Programme.

For more information on the Scientific Council and the development of the ERC, please visit the Scientific Council's web site.





last update: 17/05/06