Important legal notices
Contact   |   Search   



Basic Research Policy in the ERA - Chronology

European Research Council

Structure of the ERC

Scientific Council of ERC

The ERC Identification Committee




The ERC Identification Committee

The Commission has set up an Identification Committee to identify members of the ERC Scientific Council.

On 21 March 2005, the European Research Council (ERC) Identification Committee submitted its interim report to the Commissioner for Science and Research, Janez Potočnik. The report presented the criteria and methodology to be used to identify members of the Scientific Council of a future European Research Council.

On 24 June 2005, the ERC Identification Committee submitted to Commissioner Potočnik its Final Report together with its proposal for 22 members of the Scientific Council.

The members of the Identification Committee were:

  • Lord Patten of Barnes, Chancellor of Oxford and Newcastle Universities (Chairman)
  • Dr. Catherine Bréchignac, Director, Institut d’Optique, Université Paris Sud
  • Prof. Jüri Engelbrecht, Vice-President of the Estonian Academy of Sciences
  • Prof. Guido Martinotti, Facoltà di Sociologia Università degli Studi di Milano-Bicocca
  • Prof. Erwin Neher, Director, Max-Planck-Institut für biophysikalische Chemie, Göttingen

The ERC Identification Committee submits its final report, 20 June 2005 ( 24 kB) 

Commission Press Release on “Preparatory work underway for a European Research Council”, 25th January 2005.

Press Communication on “European Research Council Identification Committee invites input from the scientific community”, February 2005.

Press Notice on the Interim Report of the ERC identification Committee, 21 March 2005.





last update: 17/05/06