IMPORTANT LEGAL NOTICE - The information on this site is subject to adisclaimerand acopyright notice
Contact   |   Search   
Logo Marie Curie Actions  
Marie Curie Actions Human Resources and Mobility Activity
Marie Curie Actions Researchers Mobility Policy News Project Showcase Opportunities More Information

The Marie Curie glossary


  • Associated State - A state that has signed a memorandum of understanding with the Community under the terms of which it makes a financial contribution towards FP6. In exchange its institutions participate and get funding on similar conditions as organisations from Member States. In addition to the Candidate Countries except Croatia, the following states are already associated to FP6: Iceland, Israel, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland.

  • Call for Proposals - A legal text calling interested parties to submit proposals for projects. The text defines the necessary specifications to prepare and submit a proposal, i.e. thematic priorities, instruments used, address and other technical modalities for submission, deadlines etc. Calls are published in the Official Journal of the European Communities in all Community languages. They are also published on the Commissions' WebPage, together with detailed guides for proposers and submission forms.

  • Candidate State - A state that is candidate for accession to the European Union. Currently (January 2006) 5 countries have this status: Bulgaria, Croatia, FYROM, Romania and Turkey. Bulgaria, Romania and Turkey have already signed memoranda of understanding associating them to FP6 and can participate on exactly the same basis as the Member States. Croatia is also expected to sign the memorandum.

  • Contract - An agreement between the Community and the participants concerning the performance of an indirect action establishing rights and obligations between the Community and the participants on the one hand, and between the participants in that indirect action, on the other.

  • CORDIS - The Community Research and Development Information System is a huge internet information system comprising information on past and on-going projects, current calls for proposals, partner search facilities and many more features.

  • Developing Countries, Emerging and Transition Economies - all those apart from the following: Australia, Canada, Japan, New Zealand, Singapore, SOuth Korea, Taiwan and USA.

  • EU - European Union

  • European Research Area (ERA) - This is a political concept proposed by the Commission and endorsed by the European Parliament and Council to overcome the present fragmentation of Europe's efforts in the area of research and innovation. The concept comprises organising co-operation at different levels, co-ordinating national or European policies, networking teams and increasing the mobility of individuals and ideas. It is an area where the scientific capacity and material resources of the Members States can be put to best use. An area that is open to the world where national and European policies can be implemented more coherently, and where people and knowledge can circulate more freely. The multiannual Framework Programmes are the financial instruments to implement the ERA.

  • FP5 - The fifth Framework Programme 1998-2002 had the objective of increasing the industrial competitiveness and the quality of life for European citizens. Many projects that have started during FP5 will continue throughout FP6.

  • FP6 - The sixth Framework Programme 2002-2006 supports research co-operation and integration of research efforts, promote mobility and co-ordination and invest into mobilising research in support of other EU policies.

  • Framework Programme - Since 1984, research and innovation activities of the EU are bundled in one big programme, the Framework Programme. Framework Programmes are conceived for a period of 5 years. They are elaborated and proposed by the Commission and adopted by European Parliament and Council by the co-decision procedure.

  • Gross Domestic Product (GDP) - The total value of goods and services produced by a nation within that nation.

  • Information package (Infopack) - Together with the Calls for proposals, the Commission issues special information packages with all documents and information necessary to prepare a proposal. These packages contain the call text, the respective work programme, a guide for proposal writing and administrative forms. Infopacks are available in electronic form on CORDIS. Paper versions will be provided only on special request.

  • Member State (MS) - As from 1 May 2004 the 25 Member States of the EU are Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxemburg, Malta, The Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and the United Kingdom.

  • Official Journal of the European Communities - The Official Journal, published daily in 11 languages, consists of two related series, the L series (Legislation) and the C series (Information, notices and preparatory EU legislation), a supplement and an annex. Calls for proposals for FP6 are published in series C. The journal is accessible via internet.

  • RTD - Research and Technological Development

  • Third country means a state that is neither a Member State nor an Associated State.

  • Work Programme - specifies the detailed implementation of the specific programmes of FP6. It comprises detailed descriptions of the activities (detailed thematic priorities, instruments used, evaluation criteria, deadlines, roadmaps). It provides all information necessary to launch calls for proposals. The extent to which a proposal addresses the objectives of the work programme is an evaluation criterion (i.e. in order to prepare a successful proposal, one has to read carefully the work programme related to the call addressed).

last update: 20-01-2006