archive image

Navigation path

About ERAB - Members of ERAB

Established in December 2007, the European Research Area Board (ERAB) assists the European Commission in developing, promoting and evaluating policy initiatives and actions to meet the goals of the European Research Area. ERAB, consisting of 22 high-level experts from academia, business and industry, plays this role by offering advice of the highest quality, assessing progress achieved and guiding the Commission on how to mobilise people in support of shared European ambitions for science and research.

Prof. Karol Musiol and Prof. Frank Gannon stepped down as ERAB members in 2010. Prof. Luc Soete and Ms. Anne Glover were appointed as the new ERAB members in February, 2011.

  Mr. Reinhold ACHATZ Corporate Vicepresident, Siemens AG, Corporate Technology, Corporate Research and Technologies (DE)   cv  

  Dr. Robert AYMAR Former Director General of the European Organization for Nuclear Research (CERN)(CH); Scientific Counsellor to the Administrator of CEA (FR)   cv  

  Dr. Lajos
Director of International Relations, National Information Infrastructure Development Institute (HU)   cv  

  Dr. Jean J
Chief Technical Officer, EADS (DE)   cv  

  Dr. Adelheid EHMKE President, European Platform of Women Scientists EPWS (BE)   cv  

  Prof. Frank GANNON Director General, Science Foundation Ireland (IRL)
Left ERAB in December 2010

  Ms Anne GLOVER Co-founder and CEO, Amadeus Capital Partners Limited (UK)
New member as of April 2011

  Dr. Barbara HAERING Chief Executive Officer, ECONCEPT Inc. (CH)   cv  

David KING
Founding Director, Smith School of Enterprise and the Environment - University of Oxford (UK)   cv  

  Dr. Leif KJAERGAARD President of LEIF and FOOD SCIENCE, former Chief Technology Officer of Danisco A/S, (DK)   cv  

  Prof. Marja MAKAROW University of Helsinki (FI)   cv  

  Prof. Karol MUSIOL Rector, Jagiellonian University, Krakow (PL)
Left ERAB in December 2010

  Prof. Zaneta OZOLINA Faculty of Social Sciences, University of Latvia (LV)   cv  

  Prof. Maria Cristina PEDICCHIO Faculty of Sciences, Università di Trieste and President, Cluster in Biomedicine (CBM) (IT)   cv  

  Prof. Alain POMPIDOU Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS) (FR)   cv  

  Prof. Carlos
Director, Inter-University Chair in Law and the Human Genome, University of Deusto and University of the Basque Country (ES)   cv  

  Prof. Luc SOETE Professor of International Economic Relations at the Maastricht University and Director of UNU-MERIT (the United Nations University-Maastricht Economic Research institute on Innovation and Technology). (BE)
New member as of April 2011

  Dr. Unni STEINSMO President, Chief Executive Officer, SINTEF (NO)   cv  

  Prof. Lena Treschow TORELL President, Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences (SE)   cv  

  Dr. Jan

Vice-president Public R&D Programs, Philips Research (NL)


  Prof. Georg WINCKLER Rector, University of Vienna, former President, European University Association (AT)   cv  

  Prof. John WOOD Secretary General of the Association of Commonwealth Universities.   cv  

  Dr. Ingrid WÜNNING TSCHOL Head of Science and Research, Robert Bosch Stiftung (DE)   cv  

  Prof. Nüket YETIS President, The Scientific and Technological Research Council of Turkey (TR)   cv  

The European Research Area Board is chaired by Prof. John Wood. The Vice-Chairs are Prof. Marja Makarow and Dr Ingrid Wunning Tschol. Together with Dr Robert Aymar, Prof. Lena Treshow Torell and Dr Jan Van den Biesen, they form the ERAB Bureau.

^ top