Important legal notice
Contact   |   Search   
Energy research

Homepage | News | Mission | Site map | FAQ | Links

 Eu and energy research

print version Print version

Non-nuclear energy

European Fusion Development Agreement (EFDA)

Fission and radiation protection

EFDA Nations

EFDA is the European Fusion Development Agreement. A long name for a simple idea: an agreement among all the Euratom Fusion Associations to strengthen their co-ordination and collaboration. Its activities include fusion technology R&D, the exploitation of the JET (Joint European Torus) facilities, and contributions to international collaborations, such as ITER which is the “Next Step” machine proposed by China, the EU, India, Japan, Russia, South Korea, and the United States of America.

EFDA aims to provide an improved framework for the physics and technology R&D which will be needed in the run-up to the construction of the Next Step machine.

The core of EFDA comprises a small number of staff in three Close Support Units, one at IPP-Garching in Germany - and since September 2005 with small group in Barcelona mostly dedicated to co-ordinate the preparation of the ITER site in Cadarache - which co-ordinates work on ITER and fusion technology, and the other at UKAEA-Culham in the UK which is responsible for the scientific programme at JET. These two teams ensure that the work undertaken by the involved European laboratories - whether experiments on JET, technology R&D or design tasks for ITER - are fully integrated into the overall programme.

The European Fusion Development Agreement was signed in 1999 between the Commission and its partners in European fusion research; in 2002 it was extended until the end of 2004 and an extension until 2005 is in progress. Implementing Agreements relating to activities in specific areas covered by EFDA are concluded separately, in particular for the collective use of the JET facilities.

Further details on EFDA activities can be found on its website: