Euratom Nuclear Research - News & Events

21 March 2011

1st meeting of the Steering Committee of the "Agreement between the European Atomic Energy Community (Euratom) and the Government of the People's Republic of China for R&D Cooperation in the Peaceful Uses of Nuclear Energy"

The referred bilateral Agreement (R&D-PUNE) entered into force in August 2008. Its first Steering Committee meeting (SC-1) was held in Brussels on 21st March 2011 organized back to back with the 9th Meeting of the Steering Committee of the "S&T Cooperation Agreement between the European Union and China" held the day after, 22 March 2011.

The Chinese delegation composed of nine members was headed by Mr. CAO Jianlin, Vice-Minister of the Ministry of Science and Technology (MOST), while the Euratom delegation of sixteen members was headed by Mr. Dominique RISTORI, Director General of the Joint Research Centre. The main SC-1 outcome was the following:

The Parties constituted the Steering Committee, approved the implementing structure of the R&D-PUNE and established two fission related subcommittees, one on Fission Coordinated Actions and one on Nuclear Security and Safeguards, with the respective rules of procedure.

The Parties agreed to constitute a new subcommittee on Nuclear Safety in consideration of the key worldwide relevance of nuclear safety and the top priority in the bilateral cooperation activities, as well as to further interaction between MOST and DG RTD on an implementing arrangement on Fusion Energy Research within the R&D PUNE.

The Parties reviewed the several ongoing cooperation activities in fusion and fission research, notably on ITER International Organisation, on several fusion research collaborative projects advancing the discussion on potential Chinese partnership in the JET (Joint European Torus) programme and in projects of the Broader Approach Agreement, and on specific fission systems of the Generation-IV International Forum. Future cooperation in education and training of students or experts in related fields of nuclear science and technology was also addressed.


EC Communication Officer:
Marta Wysoczynska, Tel. +32 229-96590

Last update:   Top