Navigation path

ITER Organization

As well as being an impressive international research project, ITER is an extraordinary institution. It is a multinational collaboration between nations involved in fusion research worldwide.

The ITER Organisation

The ITER Organisation was created by representatives of all Parties of the association, who agreed to jointly implement ITER in November 2006. It was formally established on 24 October 2007. Its task is to implement the ITER project at the chosen site in the South of France, in Cadarache.

ITER Organization has its headquarters in Cadarache. By 2009, it had employed 500 people from all around the world and was ready to begin building ITER. Eventually, the Organisation will reach 1000 employees during the operational phase of ITER.

The project is a truly international operation undertaking with the members of the Organisation sharing the cost of construction, operation and decommissioning of the facility. Much of the cost-sharing, especially during the construction phase, is based on in-kind contributions by members, such as the construction of key components for ITER.

Preview of the future
ITER facilities

To support the ITER Organisation, all seven Parties to the project have created domestic agencies that are tasked to deliver each Party's obligations. The role of the domestic agencies is mainly to handle the procurement of in-kind contributions from their member organisations towards the construction and operation of ITER.

For the EU, the domestic agency is the Euratom Joint Undertaking "Fusion for 4Energy" (F4E), established in Barcelona

ITER Council

The work of the ITER Organisation is supervised by the ITER Council. This is the principal organ of the Organization and it is composed by Representatives of the Members.

The Council is responsible for the promotion, overall direction and supervision of the activities of the ITER Organisation in pursuit of its purpose. It holds formal meetings twice a year and it is supported by two advisory bodies: the Science and Technology Advisory Committee and the Management Advisory Committee.