Navigation path

Opening up to an ERA of Innovation Logo

Shape the future of Europe's research and innovation policy

Bringing together key players from the fields of research, business and innovation, the conference addressed Open Science, the European Research Area, and Innovation. Scientists, innovators, and policy-makers made up over 600 participants and discussed how Europe can open up to an ERA of Innovation, where ideas were forged to bring growth and jobs to Europe.

This was an excellent opportunity to share views on the Innovation Union, to network with key stakeholders and decision makers and shape the future of Europe's research and innovation policy.


Speeches and presentations



Day 1 - 22 June

Day 2 - 23 June



Name Organisation
Mr Esko AhoFormer Prime Minister of Finland
Dr. Rolf ApweilerEuropean Bioinformatics Institute EMBL-EBI (ELIXIR)
Prof. Alain BeretzLeague of European Research Universities (LERU)
Dr. Stephane Berghmans, DVM, PhDElsevier
Dr. Sergio BertolucciEuropean Organisation for Nuclear Research (CERN)
Prof. Jerzy BuzekFormer Prime Minister of Poland
Dr Iain CameronResearch UK Councils
Dr. Philip CampbellNature
Dr. Sandra CollinsDigital Repository of Ireland
Dr. Thomas CrouzierRoyal Institute for Technology
Dr. Kerstin CuhlsHigh Level Group Research, Innovation, Science Expertise (RISE)
Dr. Marian DeblondeVITO NV
Prof. Dr. Kurt DeketelaereLeague of European Research Universities (LERU)
Dr Peter DröllEuropean Commission Directorate General for Research & Innovation
Mr Daniele Fanelli, PhDMeta-Research Innovation Centre (METRICS) at Stanford University
Prof. Mark FergusonScience Foundation Ireland
Prof. Luke GeorghiouUniversity of Manchester, Research and Innovation
Ms Stefania GianniniMinister of Education, University and Research, Italy
Mr Simon Hamilton MLANorthern Ireland Minister for Health
Dr.-Ing.habil. Carlos Jimenez Härtel European Industrial Research Management Association (EIRMA)
Dr. Sabine HaubenwallnerScience Europe
Prof. Eric von HippelMassachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT)
Ms Dörte HöppnerEuropean Private Equity and Venture Capital Association
Dr. Hugo Duarte Alves HortaUniversity of Hong Kong
Ms Gaëlle HotellierSiemens AG Process Industries and Drives
Prof. Alfred HuanA*Star
Prof. Alan IrwinCopenhagen Business School
Mag. Dr. Paul F. JankowitschVienna University of Technology
Mr Frans JohanssonThe Medici Group
Commissioner Jyrki KatainenEuropean Commission
Ms Maria KhorsandEuropean Association of Research and Technology Organisation (EARTO)
Dr. Agrita KiopaDeputy State Secretary Director for Higher Education and Research Ministry of Education and Science of Latvia
Dr. Catriona MaccallumPublic Library Of Science (PLOS)
Prof. Toivo MaimetsHigh Level Group Research, Innovation, Science Expertise (RISE)
Prof. Marja MakarowNordforsk
Prof. Delphine ManceauESCP Europe
Ms Natalia ManolaUniversity of Athens
Ms Martina Marin-DobrincicRepresentative of the Voice of the Researchers
Prof. Dr. Eva M. Méndez RodríguezUniversidad Carlos III de Madrid
Mr Jack MettheyEuropean Commission Directorate General for Research & Innovation
Dr. Barend van der MeulenRathenau Institute
Dr. Alessandra MileoInsight - Centre for Data Analytics
Commissioner Carlos MoedasEuropean Commission
Prof. Helena Vaz de Carvalho NazaréEuropean University Association
Mr. Conor O'CarrollChair of the European Research Area Steering Group on Human Resources and Mobility (ERA SGHRM)
Prof. Pedro OliveiraCatólica Lisbon School of Business and Economics
Dr. Anne PépinCNRS
Mr Thierry van der PylEuropean Commission Directorate General for Communications Networks, Content & Technology
Univ.-Prof. Dr.-Ing. Ernst SchmachtenbergConference of European Schools for Advanced Engineering Education and Research (CESAER)
Mr Miguel C. Seabra, MD, PhDScience Europe
Minister Mārīte Seile Latvian Ministry of Education and Science
Mr Robert-Jan SmitsEuropean Commission Directorate General for Research & Innovation
Prof. Dr. L.L.G. SoeteUniversity of Maastricht, Chair of the High Level Group Research, Innovation, Science Expertise (RISE)
Dr. Jan-Eric SundgrenVolvo Group
Prof. Dr. Klaus TochtermannLeibniz Association
Mr. Wim van der SteltSpringer
Dr. Karen VandeveldeGhent University
Prof. Johannes Vogel, Ph.D.Museum fuer Naturkunde Berlin
Prof. James WilsdonUniversity of Sussex
Mr. Peter WittenburgResearch Data Alliance (RDA)



Related Documents

fuseami Event Networking App

Get Fuseami app on Google play Get Fuseami app on the App Store Fuseami, the smarter networking app

This mobile app will help you discover and connect with the professionals that are most relevant to you at the event