Navigation path

Additional tools


EU-Brazil cooperation on regional policy


EU-Brazil cooperation on regional policy

Brazil, a country of 27 Federal States, experiences the challenge of significant regional, economic and social disparities, for example, between North and south, between urban and rural areas, between the coastal areas and those in the interior. The country also shares borders with 11 countries and which means that, as in the European Union, cooperation with its neighbours is highly important. 

The European Commission's Regional Policy DG has been working together with the Brazilian Ministry of National Integration (MNI) since 2006 to share experiences on regional policy development and implementation.  For the fourth consecutive year, the European Parliament has voted resources to support this cooperation with third countries. It has now entered into the core competences of the Commission Directorate general for Regional Policy ("DG REGIO").  Ronnie Hall, Director in DG REGIO spoke with Mr Henrique Villa da Costa Ferreira, Director for Regional Development Policies from the MNI to reflect on this cooperation and to see whatBrazilfeels it has gained from it.

Read the interview


EU Regional Policy: Stay informed