Navigation path

Additional tools

Legal texts

Guidelines for the Community initiative INTERREG 2000-2006

In a Communication dated 2 September 2004, the European Commission has updated and consolidated the existing guidelines for the INTERREG III Community Initiative.

The strands A, B and C of this initiative support cross-border, transnational and interregional cooperation to encourage an harmonious and balanced development of the European territory for which more than EUR 6 billion are available between 2000 and 2006. The new Communication notably provides a list of the new cooperation areas following enlargement.

This new initiative, INTERREG III has three sections :

  • Section A concerns cross-border co-operation that is the promotion of integrated regional development between bordering regions.
  • Section B concentrates on cross-national co-operation, contributing to an integrated and harmonious territory across the European Union.
  • Section C aims to reinforce interregional co-operation and by the same token to improve the policies and techniques of interregional economic development.

PDF files (September 2004) : cs da de el en es et fr hu it lt lv nl pl pt sk sl fi sv pdf (750 KB)

PDF files (28 April 2000) : da de el en es fr it nl pt sk sl sv pdf (250 KB)

PDF files (25 August 2001) : de en es fr it pdf (96 KB)

The maps of eligible areas are also available as PDF files.

The guidelines for 2000-2006 take into account the experiences gained during the period 1994-1999 and they aim to reinforce these results by ensuring that the regions and territories concerned co-ordinate their efforts and co-operate in an effective manner. They must also implement their strategies and common programmes, as well as put into action their common administrative structures to ensure the development of the programmes, their co-ordination, the selection of projects, the management and the monitoring of the programme implementation.

EU Regional Policy: Stay informed