Navigation path

Additional tools

A to Z

Eligibility of expenditure

The criteria for eligibility of expenditure determine whether a cost qualifies for funding under the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF), European Social Fund (ESF) or Cohesion Fund.

Three EC Regulations (1080/2006, 1083/2006 and 1828/2006) establish the main principles on the eligibility of expenditure at European level to ensure consistency between the rules implemented in the Member States. Detailed criteria are laid down at national level.

In order for an item of expenditure to be eligible for funding, one prerequisite is that it must have been paid between the date of submission of the Operational Programmes to the Commission or from 1 January 2007 (whichever is earlier) and 31 December 2015.

Under certain conditions, in-kind contributions and overheads may be eligible. Costs eligible for a contribution from the European Regional Development Fund in the programmes under the European Territorial Cooperation objective include financial charges and guarantee costs, as well as expenditure by public authorities relating to the implementation of operations. The Commission has also adopted a list of expenditure items that are not eligible for contributions from the ERDF, ESF or Cohesion Fund, such as interest on debt and recoverable value added tax.

For more details

Council Regulation 1083/2006 laying down general provisions on the European Regional Development Fund, European Social Fund and Cohesion Fund 748 KB]

Regulation 1080/2006 of the European Parliament and of the Council on the European Regional Development Fund 169 KB]

Commission Regulation 1828/2006 laying down detailed rules on the management of Cohesion Policy financial instruments 902 KB]

EU Regional Policy: Stay informed