JASPERS: Joint Assistance to Support Projects in European Regions

Additional tools

  • Print  
  • Decrease text  
  • Increase text  

What is JASPERS?

JASPERS is a partnership between the European Commission (Directorate General for Regional Policy), the European Investment Bank (EIB), the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (EBRD) and Kreditanstalt für Wiederaufbau (KfW). It is a technical assistance facility for the twelve EU countries which joined the EU in 2004 and 2007. It provides the Member States concerned with the support they need to prepare high quality major projects, which will be co-financed by EU funds.

What assistance does JASPERS provide?

JASPERS provides independent advice to the EU countries concerned to enable them to better prepare major infrastructure projects.

JASPERS can provide assistance for all stages of the project cycle - from the initial identification of a project through to the decision to provide EU grant assistance. In some cases, advice can be provided up to the start of the construction phase.

JASPERS advice can cover:

  • project preparation (e.g. cost-benefit analysis, financial analysis, environmental issues, procurement planning)
  • review of documentation (e.g. feasibility studies, grant applications etc.)
  • advice on compliance with EU law (environmental, competition etc.)

There is clear evidence to suggest that projects which have received assistance from JASPERS are approved significantly faster than those which are not.

Which projects qualify for assistance under JASPERS?

JASPERS targets assistance on major infrastructure projects costing more than €50 million supported by the EU funds - for example, roads, rail, water, waste, energy and urban transport projects. In the case of small countries where there will not be many projects of this size JASPERS concentrates on the largest projects.

Potential beneficiaries should contact the Managing Authority responsible for coordinating EU Structural Funds in their country for information.

How is JASPERS organised?

The staff of JASPERS are provided through a partnership arrangement: the Commission provides funds which are used to recruit specialist staff while the three other partners - EIB; EBRD and KfW - contribute by seconding staff directly.

JASPERS headquarters staff are based at the EIB in Luxembourg but it has three regional centers in Warsaw, Vienna and Bucharest where about 70% of its approximately 85 specialist staff are based so that they are close to the beneficiaries and can offer a more efficient service..

  • Warsaw covers Poland, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania
  • Vienna covers the Czech Republic, Hungary, Slovakia, Slovenia and Malta,
  • Bucharest covers Romania and Bulgaria

A small number of experts are also based in Luxembourg. They can work in any of the beneficiary countries as required.