Instrument for Pre-Accession Assistance (IPA)

From January 2007 onwards, the Instrument for Pre-Accession Assistance (IPA) replaces a series of European Union programmes and financial instruments for candidate countries or potential candidate countries, namely PHARE, PHARE CBC, ISPA, SAPARD, CARDS and the financial instrument for Turkey.

Additional tools

  • Print  
  • Decrease text  
  • Increase text  

The IPA 2007-2013 ("IPA I") is made up of five different components:

  • Assistance for transition and institution building;
  • Cross-border cooperation (with EU Member States and other countries eligible for IPA);
  • Regional development (transport, environment, regional and economic development);
  • Human resources (strengthening human capital and combating exclusion);
  • Rural development.

The IPA beneficiary countries are divided into two categories:

  • EU candidate countries (Turkey, Albania, Montenegro, Serbia and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia) are eligible for all five components of IPA;
  • Potential candidate countries in the Western Balkans (Bosnia-Herzegovina, Kosovo under UN Security Council Resolution 1244/99) are eligible only for the first two components.

The IPA 2014-2020 ("IPA II") legal framework and financial assistance are under the responsibility of DG Neighborhood Policy and Enlargement Negotiations, with the exception of cross-border cooperation between Member States and IPA countries.

map Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia Turkey Montenegro