IMPORTANT LEGAL NOTICE - The information on this site is subject to adisclaimerand acopyright notice
  European Commission > Regional Policy

Newsroom Newsroom Commissioner Debate Issues Directorate General

Glossary | Search | Contact | Mailing lists


Throughout the 1994-1999 programming period, the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF) concentrates assistance on 4 priority Objectives corresponding to 4 kinds of regions. They are:

  • Objective 1:
    promoting the development and structural adjustment of regions whose development is lagging behind.

  • Objective 2:
    converting the regions or parts of regions seriously affected by industrial decline.

  • Objective 5b:
    facilitating the development and structural adjustment of rural areas.

  • Objective 6:
    development and structural adjustment of regions with an extremely low population density.

Full lists are given in the Europe and country maps or lists of eligible areas. Regional eligibility is established by the European Council or the European Commission in partnership with the Member States.

Other priority Objectives of European structural policy in the 1994-1999 programming period- Objectives 3, 4 and 5a - cover the whole of the European Community and are not financed by ERDF but by the other Structural Funds - ESF, EAGGF and FIFG.


Last modified on