Cohesion policy Frequently Asked Questions


2. What counts as an EU region?

Each EU country has a different way of dividing its territory into administrative units. For the purposes of managing programmes and comparing statistics, the EU devised the NUTS system - dividing each country into statistical units (NUTS regions). The EU is currently divided into 271 "level 2" regions.

NUTS regions are not the same as "Euroregions", which are in fact associations with no precise legal status, dating back to the period after the Second World War when local politicians in border regions tried to promote common interests on both sides of the border. Euroregions are separate from the EU, though they are often involved in European regional cooperation projects. Euroregions are represented by the Association of European Border Regions.