Important legal notices
Contact | Search on Europa  

RegioStars – The Awards for Regional Innovative Projects

Introduction RegioStars 2012 RegioStars 2011 RegioStars 2010 RegioStars 2009 RegioStars 2008


The objective of the RegioStars Awards is to identify good practices in regional development and to highlight original and innovative projects which could be attractive and inspiring to other regions.

RegioStars – The Awards for Innovative Projects – form part of the enhanced communication effort proposed in the Communication on Regions for Economic Change (COM(2006) 675).

The communication states that “integral to the communication policy of Regions for Economic Change will be the creation of annual innovation awards for best projects in the areas of selected themes linked to economic modernisation. These awards will improve information about good practice, stimulate the exchange of experience and provide visibility for progressive-thinking”.

The RegioStars 2012 Awards for project supported by EU regional policy is now launched.

RegioStars 2011

News Award categories / criteria Jury Press



16.3.2011 : Online Photo competition: Choose your own RegioStar

16.3.2011 : Regiostars 2012 call for applications. Deadline 15 July 2011.

15.3.2011: Regiostars 2011 : presentation of the finalists


3.9.2010: The deadline for receipt of applications for RegioStars 2011 was 20 July 2010.
A total of 66 applications have been received from 18 countries.
The finalists will be identified and informed by the Jury in February 2011.
The winners will be announced during the Regions for Economic Change conference foreseen for June 2011 in Brussels.

16.7.2010: The RegioStars 2011 Awards were launched in January 2010 at the presentation of RegioStars 2010 finalists. The deadline for receipt of applications is extended until 20 July 2010 at 4 pm.

Award categories

There are five RegioStars Award categories for 2011:

In addition to the Jury award under category 5, the Commission will organise an online public vote on the shortlisted promotional photos. Thereby allowing two awards under this category.

Award criteria


Ann Mettler Marcello ANTINUCCI Claire NAUWELAERS Werner PAMMINGER Christian KETELS Monica OREVICEANU Zdenka SIMONOVIC Neil Warner

President : Ann Mettler is executive director and co-founder of the Lisbon Council, a Brussels-based, independent, non-partisan think tank and policy network.

Members :

Prof. Christian KETELS (SE) is a Senior Fellow at the Center for Strategy and Competitiveness at the Stockholm School of Economics.

Mr Werner PAMMINGER (ÖS) is an experienced executive and senior consultant for a few years.

Ms Claire NAUWELAERS (BE) is a Policy Analyst, working on regional innovation policy within the Regional Competitiveness and Regional Governance Division of OECD.

Ms Monica OREVICEANU (RO) Superior Councillor, DG Territorial Development, Ministry of Development, Public Works and Housing

Ms Zdenka SIMONOVIC (HR), member of the Civitas network, Site Manager in Ljubljana, Project Coordinator of ELAN

Mr Marcello ANTINUCCI (IT) Dr. Antinucci, physicist, after 4-years of academic research, spent more than 30 years in industrial research and consulting in renewable energies, energy efficiency, and building energy applications.

Mr Neil Warner (IE) holds the Associateship of the Irish Professional Photographers Association, the Fellowship of the British Institute of Professional Photography and the Fellowship of the British Master Photographers Association.

More about the jury pdf


Presse Release 24/03/2011 : Regional policy awards: 31 finalists vie for title of Europe's most innovative regional projects













Practical Guide to EU funding opportunities for Research and Innovation
Interreg IVC
Interreg IIIC
Focus on Financial Perspective
Regional Policy Inforegio Website
Cohesion Instruments 2007 - 2013