Navigation path

Additional tools

Urban Forum 2012

Agenda and Presentations

Key remarks made by the speakers at the Urban Forum pdf

Welcome and opening

Thematic panels

Moderator: Jacki Davis, Analyst on European Union affairs.

First thematic panel : Europe 2020 and the challenge of coordinating thematic investments in cities and promoting integrated urban development.

  • Jan Olbrycht, Member of the European Parliament.
  • Mayors of 5 cities: Dunkerque, Michel Delebarre, chairman of the Committee of the
    Regions' COTER Commission; Sofia, Jordanka Fandakova; Naples, Luigi de Magistris; Warsaw, Hanna Gronkiewicz Waltz, Eurocities vice-President; Lisbon, António Luís dos Santos da Costa, CEMR Executive President.

Second thematic panel: Innovative actions for sustainable urban development.

  • Connie Hedegaard pdf, European Commissioner for Climate Action.
  • Veronica Gaffey ppt, Acting Director, DG Regional Policy, European Commission.
  • Mayors of 3 cities: Amsterdam, Eberhard van der Laan pdf; Manchester, Sir Richard Leese, Leader of Manchester City Council; Bratislava, Milan Ftáčnik.

Third thematic panel: Integrated Territorial Investments: How may it work for fostering the urban dimension of cohesion policy?

Closing address

  • Nicholas Martyn, Deputy Director-General for Regional Policy : " Towards green, inclusive and smart cities: Paving the way for sustainable cities of tomorrow."
EU Regional Policy: Stay informed