Navigation path

Eurobarometer Interactive Search System
This section of the website gives you access to the search tool for our Trends questions database.

What's new

This is the website for the Public Opinion Analysis sector of the European Commission. Since 1973, the European Commission has been monitoring the evolution of public opinion in the Member States, thus helping the preparation of texts, decision-making and the evaluation of its work. Through the following pages you will find the history of our publications by year's Newest Ancient accompanied by a short introduction to the results.

A new Public Opinion website of the European Commission has been uploaded. You can reach it here
Standard Eurobarometer 83 survey (EB83), was carried out between 16 and 27 May 2015 in 34 countries or territories: the 28 European Union (EU) Member States, five candidate countries (the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Turkey, Montenegro, Serbia and Albania) and the Turkish Cypriot Community in the part of the country that is not controlled by the government of the Republic of Cyprus.
The survey includes topics such as the European political situation and the economy. It analyses how Europeans perceive their political institutions, both national governments and parliaments, and the EU and its institutions. It also examines whether EU citizens feel that their voice counts in the EU. It looks at the main concerns of Europeans at national and at European level and considers how respondents perceive the current economic situation, what they expect for the next twelve months and their opinions of the euro. Finally, it addresses the question of European citizenship, while the fifth part focuses on Europeans’ opinions on priority issues: investment, industry, energy, trade and migration.
In January 2012, the European Commission proposed a comprehensive reform of data protection rules in the EU. The objective is to make data protection rules fit for the digital age by putting citizens back in control over of their personal data and simplifying the regulatory environment for business. The completion of this reform is a key priority for 2015 and a key enabler of the Digital Single Market project , which aims to empower European citizens and businesses to fully seize the opportunities of the digital economy.
The Eurobarometer survey, conducted in March 2015, asked 28,000 EU citizens what they think about the protection of their personal data. The overall conclusion of the survey shows that the protection of personal data remains a very important concern for citizens, as it was when the Commission presented the reform in 2012. Its outcome confirms the need to finalise the data protection reform.
This Eurobarometer survey is about people's perception of robots, autonomous cars and drones. With these technologies becoming more mainstream, it is important to understand what people think and to assess the extent to which people will accept robots performing certain functions. It builds on a previous study conducted in 2012, and looks at ways in which attitudes may have changed over the last two years.
This study aims to get a better understanding of Europeans’ opinion about the innovations brought about in society by science and technology. It tested a range of innovations that could be applied 15 years from now in the everyday life of citizens in Europe, and to understand participants’ preferences and reactions in this regard.
This study shows that citizens have different expectations with regard to the impacts of scientific and technological innovation. While positive about scientific and technological innovation generally, citizens hold the view that it can lead to unemployment and social exclusion.
Today's humanitarian challenges are growing and becoming more complex. Since the last Eurobarometer survey in 2012, we have witnessed a range of devastating disasters such as the tropical cyclone Haiyan in the Philippines, the Ebola outbreak in West Africa or the conflict in Eastern Ukraine. The European Union, together with the funding provided by the EU Member States, is the world's largest humanitarian aid donor. The aim of this survey is to understand EU citizens’ awareness and support for EU activities in the area of humanitarian aid and to trace trends since the last survey in 2012.
The survey explores citizens' awareness about their rights in cross-border healthcare after the entry into force of the Directive 2011/24/EU. It looks at how many Europeans have received medical treatment in another EU country within the last year, how willing they would be to do so in general as well as what they see as the main stumbling blocks in accessing care abroad. The poll also looks at citizens’ self-reported knowledge about their entitlement to be reimbursed by national health authorities or healthcare insurers.
For this survey carried out in April 2015, some 7 000 respondents in the seven EU Member States that have yet to join the euro (Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Hungary, Poland, Romania, Croatia, Sweden) were interviewed by phone. Citizens from different social and demographic groups replied to a set of questions focusing on issues ranging from their perception of and support for the introduction of the euro in their country, to how well citizens felt informed about the common currency. Questions included how citizens saw the consequences for themselves, their country, and for those countries which already have adopted the euro. Other questions looked at how and where citizens wished to be informed and what type of information they considered most important.
This survey for the first time included Sweden, which joined the EU at least nine years prior to the other EU countries covered in this survey. Therefore, the average that comprises all seven countries should be compared to previous editions of this study with caution. Opinion now appears equally divided over the issue of whether or not to introduce the euro, as 49% of respondents are in favour and 48% are against. Support for the introduction of the euro in the individual countries varies considerably between 29% in the Czech Republic and 68% in Romania.
This Eurobarometer accompanies the Report on the Application of the Charter of Fundamental Rights. Questions asked concentrate on citizens' awareness of the Charter, its scope of application and the institutions that would be solicited in cases of non-respect of citizens' rights. The report presents the differences between EU countries, socio-demographic groups and the European average.
The survey looked at European citizens' attitudes towards EU civil protection and their awareness of disaster risks as well as their economic impact .This opinion poll shows the level of support among citizens for EU coordinated action in dealing with disasters in comparison to the national approach. To get an indication of the level of solidarity with countries worldwide was also one of the objectives of the survey. The respondents have also been asked if enough is being done to prevent or prepare for disasters in their countries and in the EU.
The survey of companies engaging in online selling or online purchasing asked companies which were the main obstacles they encountered when selling to or purchasing from other member states. The most important obstacles were in both cases the onerous cost of cross-border delivery and the costs of cross-border dispute resolution. This is true both for companies actually doing and for companies considering cross-border eCommerce.
This study first establishes how secure European citizens feel and the impact of various factors on this feeling. It then aims to identify what they regard as the main security threats to the EU, and the way in which these threats may be evolving. Finally, the study goes on to consider which organisations or institutions are best placed to address these challenges, and whether these groups are doing a good job in tackling security threats. Additionally, respondents consider whether there has been a price to pay in terms of personal freedom so that governments can effectively fight terrorists and criminals, and whether new technologies might improve – or undermine – the security of European citizens.
The primary objective of this survey is to study young EU citizens’ participation in society, with special reference to their involvement in voluntary activities, their participation in political elections and cultural activities, and their confidence about finding employment.
In 2014, DG Competition conducted the second comprehensive stakeholder survey about the perceived quality and impact of DG Competition's enforcement, policy and advocacy activities in 2010-2013. This survey was based on in-depth interviews, carried out in June-July 2014 by TNS Qual+ among lawyers, companies, economic consultants, business and consumer associations, Member States' ministries as well as national competition authorities. The results consist of six individual reports reflecting each stakeholder group's specific views, as well as an aggregate report summarizing the results of the individual reports. Stakeholders were generally positive about the quality and impact DG Competition’s actions but mentioned also some areas for improvement.
The Flash Eurobarometer Citizen survey 403 on citizens' perception about competition policy was carried out in September 2014 by phone among 26,549 citizens in EU 28 by TNS Opinion. The survey focussed on citizens' awareness of the impact of competition, lack of competition and applicable information channels. EU citizens generally have positive views about the impact of competition. 74% say that effective competition has a positive impact on them as a consumer. However, one in five respondents (19%) says that the impact is negative. Across the EU, citizens think that problems resulting from a lack of competition are most likely in the energy sector (28%), followed by transport services (23%) and pharmaceutical products (21%). 39% of EU citizens say that they have heard or read about competition policies, such as cartels, merger or state aid control, in the last 12 months. The two main sources of information about competition policy are television (62%) and newspapers or magazines, including on-line (60%).
The report presents the results of a survey carried out in the 28 Member States of the European Union in December 2014. Some 27.801 respondents from different social and demographic groups were interviewed face-to-face at home in their mother tongue. Results have been compared with the 2009 survey where possible. Where appropriate, a variety of socio-demographic variables – such as respondents’ gender, age, terminal education age, occupation and ability to pay household bills – have been used to provide further analysis. Other key variables that have been used to provide additional insight include respondents’ views: about how widespread gender inequalities are in their country; on whether they think equality between men and women is a fundamental right; on whether tackling gender inequality should be an EU priority.
Sea transport expensive but safe, reveals Eurobarometre survey.
European citizens think that ticket prices are the most serious problem for sea or river transport (18%) in the EU, followed by water pollution and small amount of links between destinations (both 15%), and lack of frequent services (14%), revealed a Eurobarometre survey on the quality and safety of maritime and river transport released today by the European Commission. Safety however is not an issue, as 68% of respondents said cruise ships and passenger ferries are safe. The feeling of safety is increasing when passengers are reassured about crew competence and the presence of life-saving appliances, as pointed out by 33% of respondents. Also the availability of destinations at the closest port (78%) is considered important, while the name of the company is considered relevant only by 46% respondents. To be noted, among the people surveyed only one quarter (24%) had travelled by commercial ship or boat in the past 12 months, and most of them did so for holidays (70%) or other leisure activities (23%), 4% for business trips and 1% for daily commuting.
Tourism is close to the hearts of Europeans and remains a powerful driver for the economy. The Eurobarometer survey on the preferences of Europeans towards tourism provides a detailed insight of Europeans' tourism preferences in 2014 - including favourite destinations, reasons for travelling and booking methods - and anticipates travelling trends for 2015.
As the online part of our lives is increasing, through the use of home banking or shopping online, so is organised crime in the cyber environment. Today, for instance, cybercriminals steal bank and credit card details to sell onwards for as little as €1 per card or €60 per bank credentials. Cybercrime is a profitable activity that traverses borders, but involves little risk. It is a problem that affects all of us and that we need to tackle together (more information on the fight against cybercrime in the EU can be found here).
The aim of this Eurobarometer is to understand EU citizens’ experiences and perceptions of cyber security issues. The survey examines the nature and frequency of Internet usage; their awareness and experience of cybercrime; and the level of concern that they feel about this type of crime.
This survey, covering over 27 000 people in all EU member states, follows a previous survey from 2013 (Special Eurobarometer 404).
For this survey carried out between 16 and 19 January 2015, 1 000 respondents in Lithuania were interviewed by phone. Following Lithuania's changeover to the euro on 1 January 2015 and the ending of the dual circulation period two weeks later, citizens from different social and demographic groups replied to 26 questions focusing on issues ranging from perception of and support for the euro to how Lithuanian citizens felt informed about the common currency.
Questions included how citizens saw the consequences for themselves, their country and the EU, and whether they experienced any problems during the changeover period. Other questions looked at how citizens assessed various channels of the information campaign.
The survey finds that 63% of Lithuanians think that the euro will have positive consequences for Lithuania and that 54% see positive consequences also for themselves. A substantial majority of citizens in Lithuania (92%) feels informed about the euro, with 34% saying they feel very well informed.
This report presents the results of a Flash Eurobarometer survey into attitudes of Romanian and Bulgarian respondents towards the state of the judicial system and corruption in their country. It also shows the perception of EU support in this area through the Cooperation and Verification Mechanism. In Bulgaria only, the report also addresses the subject of organised crime.
Respondents are asked how seriously they take these issues, whether they feel the situation in their country has improved over the last five years and whether the EU ought to be involved in further monitoring and verification. It also brings the perception about the impact the EU has played so far and the attitudes towards its further involvement. The survey also measures general awareness of the EU’s Cooperation and Verification Mechanism.
In the fourth round of enlargement, Finland, Austria and Sweden joined the European Union on 1 January 1995, bringing the number of Member States to 15. These three countries were the first new countries to join the EU after the end of the Cold War.
This survey was commissioned to understand how people in these three countries view the EU and the impact of EU membership, twenty years after accession.
2015 has been declared the European Year for Development. For the first time a European year will be looking at what the EU does outside its borders, raising awareness and engaging with citizens and the broader public on the role of the EU as a global player, around the motto ‘Our world, our dignity, our future’. This survey tests, among other things, Europeans' views on the main development challenges and their opinions regarding increasing aid or the importance of aid in general. A number of questions focused on how citizens think they can get personally involved themselves.

Publications

Stay connected
Last update: 31/07/2015 | Top