Erasmus Mundus Joint Master Degrees

What is the opportunity?

Erasmus Mundus Joint Master Degrees (EMJMD) provide eligible organisations with the opportunity to jointly organise and run Master degree programmes. The EU provides funding for these programmes to make a selection or intake of students every year for three years, with the aim of attracting excellent students, via scholarships, from around the world.

How does it work?

Organisations interested in taking part in the opportunities offered by EMJMDs must form a consortium involving at least three higher education institutions from different Programme countries. A consortium may include additional higher education institutions from Partner or Programme countries.

Organisations in a consortium fall into one of three main categories:

  • Applicant/Coordinator - a higher education institution established in a Programme Country responsible for applying for and managing the project, i.e. signing the grant agreement, managing the financial and legal aspects, and coordinating the master degree programme with the other organisations,
  • Partners - Master degree-awarding higher education institutions recognised by the relevant authorities of the Programme or Partner Countries, as well as any other organisation actively contributing to the preparation, implementation and evaluation of the EMJMD,
  • Associated partner - optional partners who contribute to specific tasks in the implementation of the EMJMD.

The necessary institutional commitment of all the organisations participating in the EMJMD consortium must be in place before the enrolment of the first EMJMD students and must cover all academic, operational, administrative, and financial aspects related to the implementation of the EMJMD.

The successful completion of the study programme must lead to the award of either a joint degree (i.e. one single degree certificate issued on behalf of at least two higher education institutions of the EMJMD consortium) or multiple degrees (i.e. at least two degree certificates issued by two higher education institutions of the consortium).

What else should you know?

An EMJMD is a study programme of 60, 90, and 120 ECTS credits. This means that it lasts from a minimum of 12 months to a maximum of 24 months. Selected EMJMDs will receive high levels of funding for a period of three consecutive student intakes.

The study period must take place in at least two of the Programme countries represented in the consortium.

Proposals must present a fully developed joint study programme, ready to run and be advertised worldwide immediately after selection.

The proposed Master degrees must be accredited and fully recognised by the relevant authorities in the countries where the HEIs are established.

Participating HEIs from Programme countries need to have a valid Erasmus Charter for Higher Education.

How do you apply?

Applications should be submitted through the Education, Audiovisual and Culture Executive Agency under an annual call for proposals.

Find out more

The Erasmus+ Programme Guide is the main source of information for these opportunities.

More information on the application process, as well as templates and examples of documents, is available on the Education, Audiovisual and Culture Executive Agency website.

In "24 degrees" , academics tell their stories about their own Erasmus Mundus Joint Master Degree programmes.

Website feedback

Please note that we can only respond to issues concerning the Erasmus+ website. 

For general questions about Erasmus+, please contact your National AgencyNational Erasmus+ Office, or our helpdesk, EuropeDirect.