Navigation path

European Union Prize for Literature

What is it?

The European Union Prize for Literature is an annual initiative to recognise the best emerging authors in Europe.

Launched by the European Commission in 2009, the prize is open to the 37 countries countries participating in the Creative Europe programme for the cultural and creative sectors.

The prize is organised by a consortium consisting of the European Booksellers Federation, the European Writers' Council, and the Federation of European Publishers.

What does it aim to achieve?

The prize is designed to:

  • highlight the creativity and diverse wealth of Europe's contemporary literature;
  • promote a greater circulation of European literature;
  • help cross border sales of books;
  • foster greater interest in publishing, selling, and reading non-national literary works.
How does it work?

Each year, national juries in a third of the participating countries nominate their winning authors, under the stewardship of the managing consortium, allowing all countries and language areas to be represented over a three year period.

The jury then selects one candidate from each of the countries participating on the basis of requirements established by the European Commission. Candidates must, in particular:

  • Be a citizen of one of the 12 countries selected
  • Have published between 2 and 4 works of fiction
  • Have published a nominated work in the past five years
Where can I found out more?

More information is available on the website of the European Union Literature Prize.

Video of the 2014 ceremony with the participation of Tibor Navaracsics

All photos of courtesy of EUPL.