Navigation path

European Border Breakers Awards

What is it?

The European Union Award for Contemporary Music, or European Border Breakers Awards (EBBA), is an initiative designed to highlight the success of European artists in foreign markets.

The awards are given to emerging artists or groups who are able to successfully tour and circulate their works outside their country of origin.

How does it work?

The EBBA, which take place on an annual basis, involve the award of prizes to 10 European acts during a televised show, which include a Public Choice Award, where the public have the opportunity to vote for their favourite artists, as well as win a trip to the award ceremony.

The winners are selected on the basis of data from Nielsen Music Control research, the European Broadcasting Union, radio stations, and from festivals participating in the European Talent Exchange Programme.

The Eurosonic/Noorderslag Festival is in charge of organising the selection and award ceremony.

Where can I find out more?

Further information on the EBBAs is available from the EBBA website.