Navigation path

Cultural heritage awards - 04/06/2012

Paraschiva Kovacs, a schoolteacher in Satu Mare, Romania © EU

2012 cultural heritage prize recognises outstanding work in conserving, restoring and researching Europe’s historical sites.

Paraschiva Kovacs has dedicated over 40 years of her life to documenting and preserving the traditional gates of Romania’s Odorhei region.

Her work has been recognised by the EU through its annual prize for cultural heritage – also known as the Europa Nostra awards – along with 27 others chosen for excellence in cultural heritage conservation.

Kovacs was among the select six who also received special “Grand Prix” prizes for outstanding heritage achievements at a ceremony on 1 June in Lisbon.

In awarding the prize, the jury described Paraschiva Kovacs as an “extraordinary example” of the modest, dedicated people all over Europe who, without many resources, help us realise the importance of preserving the past for the future.

The other 2012 Grand Prix winners are:

For this year’s awards, people were also able to vote for a winner through an online poll. The public’s first choice was the fortifications of Pamplona, Spain, one of Europe’s best conserved bastioned enclosures and citadels.

The awards are supported by the EU's culture programme, which since 2007 has provided €30m to co-finance heritage projects.

The deadline to apply for the next awards is 1 October 2012.

More on support for culture and heritage

Choose high-contrast version Set page to normal font size Increase font size by 200 percent send this page to a friend print this page


Find what you wanted?

Yes No

What were you looking for?

Any suggestions?

Useful links