European Maritime Day

Service tools

Navigation path

From Ocean Observation to Innovation

From Ocean Observation to Innovation

Date
Monday, 19 May, 2014 - 09:00 to 10:30
Venue
KAISEN SAAL
Theme(s)

Ocean observation presents a big challenge particularly in view of multidisciplinary scientific questions with increasing complexity. Ocean monitoring is a prerequisite for a sustainable use of our oceans and operational surveillance for safety and security purposes. Tackling these challenges is possible only in the framework of international cooperation and networking and can only be achieved if large ocean areas are covered and international standards are agreed on.

A number of national and international networks focusing on earth and ocean observation already exist, that combine expertise to optimize observation systems, provide access to data from the Arctic to the Antarctic and throughout the Mediterranean and serve stakeholder needs.

Moderator: Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Karin Lochte, Director of the Alfred-Wegener-Institut Helmholtz-Zentrum für Polar- und Meeresforschung, Bremerhaven, Germany (Karin.Lochte@awi.de)

Speakers:

1. Prof. Dr. Martin Visbeck, Chairman of the Research Unit “Physical Oceanography” at the Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research, Kiel, Germany (mvisbeck@geomar.de)

Proposed title: Ocean observation - future potential and limits today

2. Dr. Magnus Tannerfeldt, International relations, Swedish Polar Research Secretariat (Magnus.Tannerfeldt@polar.se).

Proposed title: Joint use of research infrastructures - meeting our needs for Arctic ocean observation and marine research

3. Prof. Richard Lampitt, Professor at National Oceanography Centre and Coordinator of the FixO3 programme (r.lampitt@noc.ac.uk) or Dr. Luisa Cristini, FixO3 Project Manager at National Oceanography Centre (luisa.cristini@noc.ac.uk)

Proposed title: FixO3: your opportunity to access world-class marine knowledge

4. Nick O’Neill, Director of SLR Consulting Ireland (noneill@slrconsulting.com)

Proposed title: Ocean observation: Innovation through industry

5. Prof. Chris Bowler, CNRS, Paris, France (cbowler@biologie.ens.fr)

Proposed title: Genomic Observatories and Ocean Sampling Day

Organisers
Alfred-Wegener-Institut Helmholtz-Zentrum für Polar- und Meeresforschung
National Oceanography Centre