Navigation path

  • Print version
  • Decrease text
  • Increase text

Tackling discrimination - Newsroom

Winners of the EU Journalist Award 'Together against discrimination'

Date: 31/05/2012

The EU Winners and the European Commission's representatives - From left to right: Mina Andreeva, Mark Townsend, Margus Haav, Lina Papamichalopoulou and Dóra Ónody-Molnár

First prize in the 2011 competition was awarded to Margus Haav from Estonia for his article "How to find the one and only Maria" (published in the Sakala newspaper), which focuses on the problems that can occur when same-sex couples are not recognised. The jury found the article to be "fully in line" with the Award’s objectives and especially praised its "emotional appeal", as the story of Egle and Maria’s relationship effectively captures the reader’s imagination.

Second place went to Dóra Ónody-Molnár from Hungary for her article "Hungarian Girls on Every Street Corner" (published in the Népszabadság newspaper), which examines the reality of prostitution in Europe and its impact on the women involved. The jury found the article to be a "well documented and painstakingly researched piece of journalism" that is written in a "simple but engaging way."

Mark Townsend from the United Kingdom won third prize for his article "The face of slavery in modern Europe" (published in The Observer newspaper). The article addresses the trafficking of foreign children and teenagers in the EU, an issue which is often under-reported. For the jury, the article was a "real page turner" that "skilfully reveals the systematic problems" that cause young people to be unprotected.

The winner and two runners-up received their prizes on 29 May in Brussels during a ceremony hosted by the Head of the Antidiscrimination Unit Lina Papamichalopoulou and Vice-President's Reding Spokesperson Mina Andreeva.

Further information available on the competition website:

Photo gallery

 Jury of the 2012 journalist award

The EU winners, the European Commission and the EU jury members

Margus Haav, First Prize winner

 Margus Haav, First Prize winner

Dóra Ónody-Molnár, Second Prize winner

Dóra Ónody-Molnár, Second Prize winner

Mark Townsend, Third Prize winner

Mark Townsend, Third Prize winner

Tackling discrimination - News