Navigation path

The Irish Diversity Charter

Name of the Charter: Diversity Charter Ireland

Logo of the Irish Diversity Charter

Date launched: October 2012

Short description of the Charter
The Diversity Charter Ireland was launched in October 2012 by eleven organisations, representing the broader business community and including IBEC, the group that represents Irish business. The signing of this charter is a voluntary commitment by these organisations to effective diversity management, preventing discrimination and promoting equality with respect to all their stakeholders and the environment in which they operate. In signing this charter, organisations in Ireland join their counterparts in twelve other European countries in publically stating their commitment to diversity. The founding Irish signatories are: An Post, Dell, Dublin Bus, Dublin City University, ESB, Equality Strategies, Ibec, Permanent TSB, Rehab, Sodexo, Telefonica. An additional 8 companies have joined the charter since that.
The objectives  of the charters can be summarized as to:
» Continually work to ensure we have a corporate culture that is characterised by respect and appreciation for our diversity.
» Promote our commitment to diversity in the workplace by training management and staff as appropriate.
» Respect and promote the application of all aspects of the principle of non- discrimination in organisations.
» Endeavour to reflect, the diversity of society at every level of our organisation. 
» Involve our employees, customers and suppliers in our diversity and equality initiatives.
» Reflect, where appropriate, within company reports our commitment to non-discrimination and diversity.
» Participate in Diversity Charter Ireland.
In addition to the founding signatories an additional 13 companies have subsequently joined the charter:  Citi, Eircom, Irish Rail, Bus Eireann, Vodafone, Valeo Vision, Google, University of Limerick, Brown Brothers Harriman, Cisco, Arthur Cox, Medtronic and KPMG. There continues to be a mix of public and private sector organisations along with a number of multinational ones. Our next signing will take place on June 16th 2015