Navigation path

What is mutual recognition?

In order to speed up the EU procedure of cooperation for the BCR review by data protection authorities, a mutual recognition procedure has been agreed. Under this procedure, once the lead authority considers that BCR meet the requirements as set out in the working papers, the DPAs under mutual recognition accept this opinion as sufficient basis for providing their own national permit or authorisation for the BCR, or for giving positive advice to the body that provides that authorization.

At the moment, 21 countries are part of the mutual recognition procedure : Austria, Belgium,  Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, France, Germany, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, and the United Kingdom.

Justice on Twitter