Navigation path

Annual Events
E-mail this pageE-mail this pagePrintPrint
Model Council of the European Union debate


The winning team with Francis Jacobs and Senator Jillian van TurnhoutOn Tuesday 4 March 2014, secondary schools from across the country took part in the annual Model Council of the European Union debate in Dublin Castle. Teams of students from schools all over Ireland debated a mock proposal for a directive on minimum principles for the exploration and production of hydrocarbons (such as shale gas) using high volume hydraulic fracturing in the 28 Member States of the European Union.

The event was won by Kilkenny students Amy McGourty, Eimear Conroy, and Sarah Lanigan from Loreto Secondary School Kilkenny, who represented Poland in the debate. St. Kilian’s German School, Dublin, was the runner-up team; they represented Greece.

30 schools from across Ireland represented the 28 EU Member States, as well as the European Commission and the European Parliament. The event was officially opened by Minister of State for European Affairs, Paschal Donohoe T.D, and Barbara Nolan, Head of the European Commission Representation in Ireland. The event was chaired by Senator Jillian van Turnhout, leader of the Independent Group, and judged by Francis Jacobs, Head of the European Parliament Office in Ireland, and Elaine Gunn, Department of An Taoiseach (EU Affairs and Coordination Division).

The Council of the European Union is the main decision-making body of the EU and is made up of government ministers from each Member State. On most issues, EU legislation is proposed by the Commission and adopted jointly by the European Parliament and Ministers in the Council using a procedure known as co-decision.

This was the seventh annual Model Council debate organised by the European Commission Representation in Ireland.

See here msw8 - 46 KB [46 KB] for the list of participating schools.  

EU stand at the BT Young Scientist and Technology Exhibition


Barbara Nolan, Head of the Commission Representation, with two students at the EU stand in the BTYSTE 2014Each year the European Commission Representation in Ireland hosts a stand at the BT Young Scientist and Technology Exhibition in the RDS, in conjunction with the Joint Research Centre (the European Commission's in-house science service) and the European Parliament Information Office in Ireland.

The Joint Research Centre ( is the scientific and technical arm of the European Commission and provides scientific advice and technical know-how to support a wide range of EU policies.  



Back to School

Sinead Meehan of the European Parliament speaking to pupils in her old school in ManorhamiltonEach year, the European Commission invites schools across Ireland to host a visit from a past pupil who works for the EU institutions in Brussels. The visits allow students to learn about the work of Irish people in the EU institutions and about the European Union in general. The exercise is mainly geared towards senior cycle secondary school students.

In February 2013, more than 80 schools across the country hosted "Back to School" visits from past pupils.


Last update: 19/03/2014  |Top