Digital Single Market
Digital Single Market Newsroom

News :: eSafety awards

The eSafety Awards: Rewarding excellence in the deployment of intelligent vehicle safety systems

(22/09/2009) The third Edition of the eSafety Awards took place on 22 September at the Intelligent Transport Systems World Congress in Stockholm. Zoran Stančič, deputy Director General of the European Commission's Information Society and Media Directorate General, rewarded six persons and organisations for their outstanding participation in the deployment of lives saving intelligent vehicle safety systems. The nominees and the award winners have been selected by experts among the road safety stakeholders.

Of the six Award categories, three are recognising the efforts towards the development of Information and Communication Technologies (ICT) eSafety systems, and three are rewarding excellence on the promotion of the take-up of these systems.

  • The Award for eSafety excellence on car sales, rewarding outstanding conduct for promoting intelligent safety systems when selling vehicles, was presented to Auto De Graef GmbH, Fiat car dealer based in Köln, Germany, for its pro-activeness in promoting eSafety and the high level of information of its staff regarding eSafety systems.
  • The Award for eSafety excellence on marketing campaining was granted to Renault Spain for its eSafety advertising efforts and for being the first car manufacturer to make ESC standard in the C segment car model in Spain.
  • The Award for eSafety excellence on driving training, recognising excellence in promoting awareness and education of users on intelligent vehicle safety systems, was presented to the German Road Safety Council for the great achievements of the "Bester Beifahrer" campaign in informing key target groups about the benefits of car safety technologies.
  • The Industry or Technology Award was presented to the Daimler AG, for the key role the company has played in bringing to the market technologies and systems which are proven to enhance traffic safety, such as ABS (1978), ESP® (1995) or in 2000 the first Lane Keeping Assist system for Trucks. More recently, Daimler developed the PRE-SAFE® concept, which consists of protective measures activation before crash.
  • The Policy Award was granted to the Rijkswaterstaat, the Dutch Ministry of Public Works, Transport and Water Management, for the promotion and use of intelligent safety systems on the Dutch roads, as well as their contribution to the development of ITS systems at European level.
  • The Life Time Achievement Award was presented to André Vits for his full commitment in promoting ICT based applications for mobility all along his career. From 2002 until his retirement in 2009, he was head of the European Commission's "ICT for Transport" unit (Information Society and Media Directorate General), and also chaired the eSafety Initiative.

The eSafety Awards are organised by eSafety Support and eSafety Aware.

The World Congress on Intelligent Transport Systems is the key international event where transportation professionals from around the globe gather to share knowledge, exchange ideas and export state-of-the-art technologies and innovations in the high-tech transportation industry.