Digital Single Market
Digital Single Market Newsroom

News :: Four MEDIA funded films nominated for Oscars

Four MEDIA funded films nominated for Oscars

(21/02/2008) At this year’s 80th Academy Awards, 4 MEDIA funded films are nominated for Oscars: "La Vie en Rose" (La Môme), "Persepolis", "The Diving Bell and the Butterfly" (Le Scaphandre et le Papillon) all from France and "The Counterfeiters" (Die Fälscher) from Austria and Germany. The total EU contribution for these 4 films alone amounted to more than € 2.5 million. Last year, the Oscar winner from Germany, "The Lives of Others" (Das Leben der Anderen), had received over €0.5 million from MEDIA. The Academy Awards for outstanding film achievements of 2007 will be presented next Sunday, February 24.

MEDIA Programme

Additional Information

See also: List of nominees