

Joint Plenary Meeting of the

SCIENTIFIC COMMITTEES ON CONSUMER SAFETY (SCCS), ON HEALTH AND ENVIRONMENTAL RISKS (SCHER) AND ON EMERGING AND NEWLY IDENTIFIED HEALTH RISKS (SCENIHR)

Luxembourg, 11-12 April 2013

MINUTES

PLENARY OF THE 3 COMMITTEES -12 APRIL 2013

1. Welcome and introduction by the Commission

The meeting was opened by J. Ryan, acting Director of the Public Health Directorate, European Commission. An introductory presentation was given by Prof. A. Glover, who is Chief Scientific Adviser to the President of the European Commission. Her speech focused on the importance of members using their expertise, knowledge and networks to provide EU policy makers with credible, valuable and powerful advice through the scientific committees' opinions. The work of the scientific Committee contributes to implementing the approach to safety in all areas, and to making a bridge between science and policy. The key factors towards making a real change are: good risk communication - because often scientific knowledge generated does not have impact; challenging (including ourselves) and good collaboration between existing scientific committees (SCs) in the European Commission - this includes the newly created President Science and Technology advise Council Prof. A. Glover chairs, with which the Scientific Committees will interact. She concluded that the ability to evoke precautionary principle should be perceived as an engine and a real tool for innovation, stimulating science to fill the gap in the areas of research where further study is still needed.

2. Working methods of the Scientific Committees

S. Schreck, Health Information Head of Unit, illustrated the different stages in the development of scientific advice given by the Scientific Committees and their functioning and working procedures. (See presentation)

Finally S. Schreck explained the election process of Chair/Vice-Chairs. He explained that, in accordance with the Rules of Procedure as required by Article 10 of Commission Decision 2008/721/EC of 10 September 2008 setting up Scientific Committees in the field of consumer safety, public health and the environment, the committee should elect a Chairman and two Vice-Chairmen by simple majority of the members that make up the Committee. He said that candidates could either nominate themselves for consideration or be nominated by another member of the Committee.

SCIENTIFIC COMMITTEE ON CONSUMER SAFETY Minutes 1st Plenary meeting 12 April 2013

1. Welcome and introduction by the Commission

The meeting was opened by S. Schreck who welcomed the members.

2. Introduction of members

S. Schreck invited the members to introduce themselves briefly regarding their professional background, affiliations and areas of scientific expertise.

3. Election of the Chairman and vice-Chairmen of the Committee

A record of the election procedure is included in Annex II.

<u>Chairman</u> Prof. Thomas Platzek was elected as Chairman. <u>Vice-chair</u> Prof. David Gawkrodger and Dr. Suresh Ch. Rastogi were elected as vice-Chair.

S. Schreck invited the elected Chair to take over the meeting.

4. Declaration of conflict of interest

Prof. Th. Platzek, the Chair, recalled the audience that the forms for the annual Declarations of Absence of Conflict of Interest should be returned filled in and signed by the Committee members. No declaration of potential conflict of interest was made.

5. Presentation of the on-going and forthcoming activities

The Chair introduced C. Arranz Aceves, from the Risk Assessment Unit, for a presentation on the principal areas of activity of the SCCS as well as the some on-going issues.

6. Presentation on Cosmetic legislation and the SCCS

The Chair introduced E. Hansson, Deputy HoU Health technology and Cosmetics Unit, to speak about the role of SCCS in the development of EU legislation in cosmetics in order to ensure a high level of health protection.

7. Preliminary work programme of the SCCS

N. Grenier presented the work programme, and in particular:

- the mandates already received, the on-going work and the priority files
- the new mandates
- the announced submissions of safety dossiers

The Chair proposed to maintain the previous SCCS Working Groups and to elect their chairs as required by Article 7.3 of Commission Decision 2008/721.

He invited the newly appointed members to indicate which working groups they would consider joining. He added that other working groups would be set up for particular issues if needed.

The list of Chairpersons for each SCCS Working Group is included in Annex II.

8. New mandates

The Chair introduced F. De Gaetano, from the Health technology and Cosmetics Unit, to present the two new mandates received.

9. Any other business

The SCCS provisionally agreed on the following dates for meetings:18 June 2013: Plenary meeting19 September 2013: Plenary meeting12 December 2013: Plenary meeting

Annex I: List of Participants

Annex II: Election Procedure and list of Chairpersons for each SCCS Working Group

Annex I:

List of Participants

Members of the SCCS

Dr. Ulrike Bernauer, , Prof. Gisela Degen, Dr. Elsa Nielsen, Prof. Thomas Platzek (<u>Chair</u>), Dr. Suresh Chandra Rastogi (<u>Vice-Chair</u>), Dr. Christophe Rousselle, Dr. Jan van Benthem, Dr. Pieter-Jan Coenraads, Dr. Maria Dusinska, Prof. David Gawkrodger (<u>Vice-Chair</u>), Dr. Werner Lilienblum, Dr. Andreas Luch, , Dr. Nancy Monteiro-Rivière.

Apologies

Dr. Manfred Metzler and Dr. Qasim Chaudhry

SCCS Secretariat (DG SANCO)

Stefan Schreck, Natacha Grenier and Clara Arranz-Aceves

DG SANCO - Health technology and Cosmetics Unit

Erik Hansson and Federica De Gaetano

Annex II:

Election of Chair and Vice-chairs

Appointed members of the Committee were asked to express an interest of candidature for (vice) chairmanship in writing prior to the meeting. In addition, during the meeting members were given an opportunity to announce their candidature or to nominate other members. Nominated candidates were asked whether they agreed to stand in the election. The chair and two vive-chairs were elected in separate, secret, votes.

Chairman

Prof. Thomas Platzek and Prof. David Gawkrodger were the candidates for chairmanship. Prof. Thomas Platzek was elected as the Chairman by the majority of SCCS members. The members voted by secret ballot.

Vice-chairpersons

Dr Suresh Ch. Rastogi and Prof. David Gawkrodger expressed their interest in vicechairmanship.

Dr Suresh Ch. Rastogi and Prof. David Gawkrodger were elected as vice-Chairpersons in two separate votes by the majority of SCCS members. The members voted by secret ballot.

List of Chairpersons for each SCCS Working Group

Prof. Thomas Platzek suggested to keep the existing Chair whenever possible (i.e. SCCS Member) and to get volunteers for the others.

Here is the updated list of Chairpersons:

- WG on Cosmetic ingredients:	Dr. Suresh Ch. Rastogi
- WG on Hair Dyes:	Prof. Thomas Platzek
- WG on Nanomaterial in Cosmetic Ingredients:	Dr. Qasim Chaudry
- WG on Methodologies:	Dr. Werner Lilienblum