Former Scientific Committeesslide

October 2004-March 2009

Scientific Committee on Consumer Products
arrow Scientific Committee on Health and Environmental Risks
arrow Scientific Committee on Emerging and Newly Identified Health Risks
arrow Inter-Committee Coordination Group

arrow Final report on the Scientific Committees 2004-2009pdf

The Scientific Committees established by Decision 97/404/EC and Decision 97/579/EC provided for a Scientific Steering Committee and eight specific committees. Risk assessment responsibilities, previously carried out by the Steering Committee and the five scientific committees in the field of food and feed safety and animal health and welfare, were transferred to the European Food Safety Authority (EFSA) in May 2003. The Directorate-General for Health and Consumers retained responsibility for the three remaining non-food Scientific Committees. Following a review of the work of these Committees and an assessment of the needs of the Commission for independent scientific advice the Commission adopted Decision 2004/210/EC replacing these Committees with three Scientific Committees.

Before October 2004

Scientific Committee on Cosmetic Products and Non-food products intended for Consumers
arrow Scientific Committee on Medicinal Products and Medical Devices
arrow Scientific Committee on Toxicity, Ecotoxicity and the Environment



  printable version  
Public HealthFood SafetyConsumer Affairs
requires javascript