

EUROPEAN COMMISSION

HEALTH & CONSUMER PROTECTION DIRECTORATE-GENERAL

Directorate C – Public Health and Risk Assessment C7 Risk assessment Scientific Committee on Consumer Products

SCIENTIFIC COMMITTEE ON CONSUMER SAFETY 1ST PLENARY MEETING

Held on 27 March 2009 in Brussels MINUTES

1. Welcome and introduction by the Commission

The meeting was opened by Mr. Delogu who welcomed the members and congratulated them on their nomination to the Scientific Committee for Consumer Safety.

2. Declaration of interest

Mr. Delogu said that the forms for the annual Declarations of Interest will be sent to the Committee members and should be returned filled in and signed.

3. Introduction of members

Mr. Delogu invited the members to introduce themselves briefly regarding their professional background, affiliations and areas of scientific expertise.

4. Election of the Chairman and vice-Chairmen of the Committee

Mr. Delogu explained that, in accordance with the Rules of Procedure as required by Article 10 of Commission Decision 2008/721/EC of 10 September 2008 setting up Scientific Committees in the field of consumer safety, public health and the environment, the committee should elect a Chairman and two Vice-Chairmen by simple majority of the members that make up the Committee.

He said that candidates could either nominate themselves for consideration or be nominated by another member of the Committee. A record of the election procedure is included in Annex II.

Chairman

Dr. Ian R. White was elected as the Chairman.

Vice-chairmen

Prof. Vera Rogiers and Prof. Tore Sanner were elected as vice-Chairmen.

4. Presentation of the on-going and forthcoming activities

In his inaugural speech, Dr. I.R. White, the new elected chairman of the SCCS, thanked members for their confidence.

He briefly illustrated the principal areas of activity of the Scientific Committee as well as the some on-going issues.

4.1. Working procedures

Mrs Kilian illustrated the different stages in the development of scientific advice given by the SANCO Scientific Committees and the typical Scientific Committees Working Procedures:

- the mandate
- the structure and content of an opinion
- public consultation and joint opinions
- the setting up of Working Groups (WG) and assignment of rapporteurs
- the role of the secretariat, chairman of the SC and chairman of the WG and rapporteur

4.2. Mission expenses and indemnities

Mrs Lok outlined the modalities for reimbursement of travel and subsistence costs. Members, scientific advisors from the Pool and external experts are entitled to a special indemnity for attendance at meetings as set out in Annex III of Commission Decision 2008/721/EC. Rapporteurs are entitled to an indemnity as set out in Annex III of Commission Decision 2008/721/EC.

5. Preliminary work programme of the SCCS

Mrs Kilian presented the preliminary work programme, and in particular:

- the mandates already received
- the on-going work on the Threshold of Toxicological Concern (TTC)
- the announced submissions of safety dossiers
- other tasks as the revision of the SCCP Notes of Guidance.

In accordance with the work programme, Dr. White proposed to re-arrange the previous (SCCP) Working Groups so that they better reflect the mandate of the new committee. As a result, the following working groups were created: Cosmetic Ingredients, Hair Dyes, Sensitisation & Fragrances, Methodologies and Nano-materials (standing working groups); Triclosan (antimicrobial resistance) and food-imitating products (ad hoc working groups).

He invited the members to indicate which working groups they would consider joining. He stressed that the structure of Working Groups is of a dynamic nature and that other working parties would be set up for particular issues if required. Member's preferences for working group participation would be collated by the secretariat and distributed as soon as possible.

6. Any other business

The SCCS provisionally agreed on the following dates for meetings:

21 April 2009: WG on Cosmetic Ingredients

28 April 2009: Plenary meeting

7 May 2009: WG on Methodologies

12 May 2009: Hair Dyes

19 May 2009: WG on Cosmetic Ingredients

16 June 2009: WG on Hair Dyes 8 July 2009: Plenary meeting 13 October 2009: Plenary meeting 8 December 2009: Plenary meeting

Annex I: List of Participants.

Annex II: Election Procedure

Annex I

List of Participants

Members of the SCCS

Prof. J. Angerer, Dr. U. Bernauer, Dr. C.M. Chambers, Dr. M. Chaudhry, Prof. G. Degen, Prof. G. Eisenbrand, Prof. C.L. Galli, Prof. T. Platzek, Dr. S.C. Rastogi, Prof. V. Rogiers (vice-Chairman), Dr. C. Rousselle, Prof. T. Sanner (vice-Chairman), Prof. M.P. Vinardell, Dr. I.R. White (Chairman)

Apologies

Prof. K. Savolainen, Dr. J. van Engelen, Prof. R. Waring

SCCS Secretariat (DG SANCO)

Mr. Delogu, Mrs. K. Kilian, Mrs. Y. Lok, Mr. A. Van Elst, Mrs. M. Viitaniemi

DG ENTR F3

Mrs. A. Orloff

Annex II:

Election of Chair and Vice-chairs

Appointed members of the Committee were asked to express an interest of candidature for (vice) chairmanship in writing prior to the meeting. In addition, during the meeting members were given an opportunity to announce their candidature or to nominate other members. Nominated candidates were asked whether they agreed to stand in the election. Candidates were invited to give a short motivation statement. The chair and two vive-chairs were elected in separate, secret, votes.

Chairman

Dr. Ian R. White was the only candidate for chairmanship. He was unanimously elected as the Chairman. The members voted by ballot.

Vice-chairpersons

Prof. Corrado Galli, Prof. Vera Rogiers and Prof. Tore Sanner expressed their interest in vice-chairmanship. Prof. Vera Rogiers and Prof. Tore Sanner were elected as vice-Chairpersons in two separate votes by the majority of SCCS members. The members voted by ballot.