Navigation path


EU Health Prize for Journalists

Are you a journalist interested in health?

EU Health Prize for Journalists 2013

National Jury Croatia

The jury met on 5 November 2013 and selected the Croatian national finalist. The name of the national finalist will be published after all the finalists are selected.


Martin Mayer, chair


Tea Vukušić Rukavina, health expert

Tea Vukusic Rukavina, MD, PhD, is Senior Fellow Researcher at the Department of Medical Sociology and Health Economics at the Andrija Stampar School of Public Health, School of Medicine, University of Zagreb. In 2011 she obtained her PhD in Public Health, in 2012 she specialized psychiatry.
She was from 2002-2008 assistant coordinator of the "County Public Health Capacity Building Project – Healthy Counties" program that won Management Training Excellence Award in 2006 and Global Health Program of Distinction Award in 2013 from Sustainable Management Development Program, Division of Public Health Systems and Workforce Development, Centers for Disease Control & Prevention, Atlanta, GA, USA. Dr. Vukusic Rukavina was a project leader of the project “Picture of mental illness in Croatian, Czech and Slovak print media” (2009 – 2011) which was a part of the Finance and Mental Health Services Training in Czech Republic/Central Europe coordinated by the Global Center for Health & Economic Policy Research, University of California, Berkeley. From 2012 she is a visiting faculty at the program Socio-Economics of Mental Health Delivery in SE Europe coordinated by University of California, Berkeley and Babes-Bolyai University Cluj-Napoca, Romania
She was coordinator of the Motovun Summer School of Health Promotion (2002 – 2010) and since 2002, she is director of the Media and Health Course, annual course that promotes collaboration among journalists and health professionals. Her main areas of interests are management of mental health services, mental health promotion and social marketing campaigns.


Ognjen Brborovic, health expert

Ognjen Brborovic holds a MD and PhD and is one of the directors of the Media and Health course that is the major yearly gathering of journalists with political, administrative, regulatory and managerial bunch in health care in Croatia. With the same team, as in Media and Health, Ognjen has been working in SEE region to alleviate communication of health professionals with journalists. During years, Ognjen has got some experiences as a topic of journalist' interests as well, especially when he was involved in various campaigns (national and local) to change health behaviour. He is an assistant professor at School of Public Health, Medical School of University of Zagreb at the Department of social medicine and health care organisation.


Selma Mijatović, journalist

Selma Mijatović was born in Zagreb in 1953. She graduated from the Faculty of Political Science and Journalism in Zagreb and she has been writing for newspapers since she was 16 years old. As Selma Mijatović originally wanted to study medicine she began to write about health issues in numerous media. She has been working on this for more than 35 years. Over the last 16 years Selma Mijatović has been the editor in chief of the monthly magazine "Doctor in the House" for long and healthy life.


Mario Harapin, journalist

Mario Harapin studied medicine at the University of Zagreb and has been the editor of the health and medicine program on Croatian radio since 1998. He served as a UNDP consultant and is the chairman of the working table on stigmatization and discrimination of HIV/AIDSOM. Since 2003, he has been the director of the Media and Health Course of the Motovun Summer School of Health Promotion and the president of the Health and medicine Journalist Association (Croatian Journalist Association). Additionally, in 2002-2003 he was a member of the Committee for the promotion of healthy nutrition and physical activity and leader of the team for the media presentation of the healthy way of living at national level. In 2002 he received the Croatian Radio Television annual award.

Last update: 09/11/2014 | Top