ICT standardisation

ICT standardisation

ICT standards play an essential role in achieving interoperability of new technologies and can bring significant benefits to both industry and consumers. They help ICT markets remain open and allow consumers the widest choice of products. 

What is the EU's role in ICT standardisation?

Standardisation is an essential component of industrial competiveness. Regulation 1025/2012 on European standardisation sets the legal framework in which the actors in standardisation (the European Commission,  European standardisation organisations, industry, SMEs and societal stakeholders) operate.

In the last decades, many of the most commonly used ICT technical specifications are produced by forums and consortiums that have become leading ICT standards development bodies. Article 13 of the Regulation allows the Commission to identify ICT technical specifications to be eligible for referencing in public procurement. This allows public authorities to make use of the full range of specifications when buying IT hardware, software and services, allowing for more competition in the field and reducing the risk of lock-in to proprietary systems.

The Commission financially supports the work of the 3 European standardisation organisations:

EU-funded research and innovation projects also make their results available to the standardisation work of several standards-setting organisations.

The Communication on ICT Standardisation Priorities

The digitisation of the global economy and society affects all sectors. It is at the heart of the EU’s political agenda and is necessary if we are to maintain our competitiveness. Having common ICT standards is one of the measures needed to ensure that European industries are at the forefront of developing and exploiting ICT technologies: they ensure interoperability and guarantee that such technologies work smoothly and reliably together. This will become increasingly important as in the future, many more devices will be connected to each other - ranging from cars and transportation systems, to appliances and eHealth systems.
With the Communication on ICT Standardisation Priorities the Commission proposes to focus standard-setting resources and communities on 5 priority areas: 5G, Internet of Things, cloud computing, cybersecurity and data technologies because they are essential for wider EU competitiveness. Action in these areas can accelerate digitisation and have an immediate impact on competitiveness in domains such as eHealth, intelligent transport systems and connected/automated vehicles, smart homes and cities, and advanced manufacturing.
The Communication encourages the take up of the right ICT standards as one of the deliverables of the Digital Single Market Strategy adopted in 2015. However, priority setting alone does not suffice. Success depends on a high-level commitment to standardisation from a broad stakeholder base. This includes industry, standard-setting organisations and the research community.
This Communication will build on and complement the European Multi-stakeholders Platform, the ICT Rolling Plan on ICT Standardisation and the Annual Union Work Programme for European Standardisation as delivery mechanisms for standards and standardisation deliverables

The European Multi Stakeholder Platform on ICT Standardisation

A European Multi Stakeholder Platform on ICT Standardisation has been set up to advise the Commission on matters relating to the implementation of ICT standardisation policy, including priority-setting in support of legislation and policies, and the identification of specifications developed by global ICT standards development organisations.

The Platform also advises on the elaboration and implementation of the Rolling Plan on ICT standardisation.

Members of the platform include representatives of EU and EFTA countries, European and international standard developing bodies, organisations active in Europe in the field of ICT standardisation development, and organisations representing industry, SMEs, consumers and societal stakeholders.

Members of the Multi Stakeholders Platform on ICT Standardisation

The Rolling Plan on ICT Standardisation

The 2016 Rolling Plan on ICT Standardisation (3MB) / Addendum (67 KB) is the result of collaboration with major standardisation stakeholders through the Multi-Stakeholder Platform on ICT Standardisation. It covers all activities that can support standardisation. Priority actions aim to ensure interoperability and facilitate ICT uptake in key areas.

The Plan offers details on the international contexts for each policy:

  • Societal Challenges: eHealth, accessibility of ICT products and services, web accessibility, e-Skills and e-Learning, emergency communications and eCall.
  • Innovation for the Digital Single Market: e-Procurement, e-Invoicing, card/internet and mobile payments, eXtensible Business Reporting Language (XBRL) and Online Dispute Resolution (ODR).
  • Sustainable growth: Smart grids and smart metering, smart cities, ICT environmental impact, European Electronic Toll Service (EETS) and Intelligent Transport System (ITS).
  • Key enablers and security: Cloud computing, (Open) Data, e-government, electronic identification and trust services including e-Signatures, Radio Frequency Identification (RFID), Internet of Things (IoT), network and information security (cyber-security) and ePrivacy.

By contrast with the previous work programmes, the new Rolling Plan describes all the standardisation activities undertaken by Standard Setting Organisations (SSOs). This ensures an improved coherence between standardisation activities in the EU.

Finally the Rolling Plan is the first prepared with the involvement of European Standardisation Organisations and other stakeholders. This improved process is a stronger guarantee that activities of standardisation supporting EU policies in the ICT domain will be aligned.

Previous Rolling Plans