Language selector

  • Current language:en
  WTO/SPS Introduction slide


The European Union is a member of the World Trade Organization (WTO) since it was established in 1995. The WTO is the leading international organization that sets the international rules for trade.

Nowadays, 159 countries are members of the WTO. All EU Member States are individually members of the WTO. The European Commission on their behalf negotiates and acts within the WTO and represents the whole EU as a spokesperson in all WTO fora.

The EU is an active partner with the following international standard setting bodies: the Codex Alimentarius Commission, the International Plant Protection Convention (IPPC) and the World Organisation for Animal Health (OIE), which deal with public health, plant health and animal health issues.



Public HealthFood SafetyConsumer Affairs
requires javascript