INSEPARABLE - Eat, Buy and Sell Sustainable FishINSEPARABLE - Eat, Buy and Sell Sustainable FishINSEPARABLE - Eat, Buy and Sell Sustainable FishINSEPARABLE - Eat, Buy and Sell Sustainable Fish

    Free text
Related content
The EU and Mozambique met in Maputo, Mozambique, on 9-11 July 2014, to launch negotiations on the renewal of the Protocol to the Sustainable Fisheries Partnership Agreement due to expire on 31 January 2015. The negotiations were conducted in an open and frank atmosphere with progress made on identifying the areas where there was agreement and those where further work is required.
On 19 June 2014, the EU and Madagascar initialled a new 4 year-Protocol to the Fisheries Partnership Agreement with Madagascar, the EU’s second largest one in the Indian Ocean.
The European Commission is satisfied with the results of the Indian Ocean Tuna Commission (IOTC) at its latest meeting, concluded on 5 June in Colombo, Sri Lanka.


Fisheries partnership agreement

The fisheries partnership agreement concluded between the EU and Comoros covers the period 1.1.2005 – 31.12.2011 and has been tacitly renewed for a period of 7 years. The protocol covers the period 1.1.2014 – 30.12.2016.

This fisheries agreement allows EU vessels mainly from Spain, France and Portugal to fish in the Comoros waters and is part of the tuna network fisheries agreements in the Indian Ocean.

Main features of the FPA

Duration of the agreement:7 years renewable (1.1.2005 - 31.12.2011, tacitly renewed from 1.1.2012 to 31.12.2018)
Duration of the protocol: 3 years (1.1.2014 – 30.12.2016)
Initialisation: 5.7.2014
Nature of the FPA : Tuna Fishery Agreement 
Financial contribution: 600 000 € out of which 300 000 € have been earmarked for the support of the Comoros fisheries policy in order to promote sustainability in its waters.
Fee for ship owners:  55 € per tonne caught.
Advances:  - Tuna seiners: 4 235 € per year (ref catches: 77 t)
- Surface longliners: 2 475 € per year (ref catches: 45 t)
Reference tonnage: 6 000 t./year
Fishing possibilities
Tuna seiners2121-42 vessels
Surface longliners89320 vessels


The first fisheries agreement concluded between the EU and Comoros dates back from 1988.

Current legal framework